We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diocletian Palace Experience
Ranked #17 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Location could not be better. Right at the center 1 min from everything; bus station, train station, port and old city center. Rooms are clean, simple, but very comfortable. Staff is very helpful. They helped us to plan the rest of our trip with very good inside information. loved to come back and stay there for more then 2 days.

Room Tip: anything inside the palace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

nice rooms, clean and simple, friendly staff who helped us with everything needed and gave us some really good tips about our trip..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Nice and clean apartment in the center of the Palace. Very helpful hosts

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

It is located withing the old walls and is an apartment on the second floor. There was 2 bedrooms which were both very large and clean, with a bathroom too. NIce new wooden floorboards and everything modern, but basic, not too over the top. The managers were super friendly and picked us up from the airport and have us some tips of things to do. Close location to everything! Stayed here for 6 days, definitely recommended!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank skibunny101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

The apartment we stayed in, was a 5 minute walk from palace. Everything was fine. Room was clean however there were strange noises from the room above in the middle of the night. We only stayed there 1 night, which was enough. It is perfect if you just need a place to sleep for the night. This is not a hotel, it just seems to be a company with a list of apartments on their books that they rent out.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fox111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed in a double room in summer with no air-con or fan. It was very hot in the room. There was a cafe/bar just underneath me and noisy but I couldn't close the window because of the heat. I stayed for three nights and the room was never serviced. On the other hand if it had not been so hot I might have enjoyed the room. It was reasonably large and the bathroom fixtures looked fairly new. Great location. Owners were friendly but not very helpful. Guests get to use their Internet cafe for free.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed in the studio apartment, which is not in the same building as the regular rooms, but still inside of Diocletian's Palace and close to everything I wanted to see. The apartment was a normal studio, with two twin beds pushed together, two hot plates, a fridge, dishes and pans plus sugar and salt provided on the table. There's a Tommy supermarket about 3 minutes away, as well as a 24 hour bakery, so it's convenient to prepare your own meals.

Pros: Staff are really nice and helpful. Free map and printed guidebook of Split in apartment. New insulated window which completely blocked out noise from street. Lots of channels on TV (even some in English). AC/heat worked well.

Cons: No wifi in apartments! I booked this place because it was cheap but also because I thought there was free wifi. Maybe there is in the regular rooms, but there is nothing in the apartments. I had to pay to use the computers at the reception office in order to get online.

Reception closes at 9 pm, so if you arrive late, you must call them to get the key (and to find out where the apartment is since it is not near the reception office).

The hot water heater was incredibly small and we had only about 5 minutes of hot water before it ran out and we had to wait for it to heat up again. This wouldn't have been much of a problem if it had been hot outside, but it was actually rather cool and we had to turn the heat on in the apartment too. Towels are included, but they are also really small.

The location was excellent, but I was disappointed with the lack of internet and hot water. But it is a great value for the money (we only paid 30€ per night) so I would recommend it for budget travelers and backpackers.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ielanguages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#23 of 58 in Split
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
710 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ark Beach Apartments
Ark Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diocletian Palace Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diocletian Palace Experience

Address: Nepotova 4 | in the heart of the Diocletian palace, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Diocletian Palace Hostel)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $95 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diocletian Palace Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diocletian Palace Experience.. place located in the center of the Diocletian Palace, 1700 years old, on the east wall of it. The unique experience and memory making place, just few minutes walking distance from the bus, train and ferry terminal. In walking distance there is a majority of the main historical and cultural attractions to see and to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Diocletian Palace Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing