We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grim”
Review of Hostel Ana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Ana
Ranked #312 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Split
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“grim”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It was evening. Places were full. We wanted somewhere to stay. We checked this place out.
Room looked OK. We paid a few nights (no receipt or any sign of anything "official"). Then my wife noticed some strange hairs on the bed. Lots of dust on cupboard suggesting had not been cleaned in a long time. And the noise of the aircon unit from the supermarket below, as loud as an aeroplane! Bathroom and toilets broke - it gave off a sulphurous smell from successive "donations" that had not flushed.

The bald guy in his underpants watching boxing all night didn't really add to the atmosphere... nor did the cigarettes in the sink.

Sure, I've stayed in dodgier places... but nowhere can top this place for neglect!

It's actually a really nice flat. When they sort it out this place could make proper money, but for now I think they are running on empty.

Room Tip: Make sure you can't hear the aircon from downsatirs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ital_v_ital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    6
    47
See reviews for
Families
0
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Where to start? We booked a room for four people (we had a few mates staying with us) and once we got there they had double booked us (even though we booked in feb) so we get put in an eight bed dorm but ended up being ten by the time they rolled the mattresses out on the floor. There was poo on the walls in the toilet which wasn't ideal. My mate also had to pull the massive ball of hair out of the drain. Also don't believe they have air con because they don't. All in all it was a rough trot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuppaSnake87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends whilst interrailing. The room was large and the beds were comfy however there were no lockers in the room. The bathroom was all new and very clean. It is very close to the centre of Split and only a 2 minute walk from the station and harbour. The terrace was really nice and spacious and the wifi worked brilliantly. I would definitely recommend staying here despite all the terrible reviews. For 13 euros a night it was one of the cheapest in Split!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieKlein15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Where do I begin with this hostel... Firstly they false advertise saying they have air conditioning, hot tub, hot showers and all this other crap which they do not. It's completely overpriced as we paid 20€ for 1 night. The room was dirty, staff were useless, wifi didn't work, showers were cold water only, and the washrooms were dirty and tiny. There was nothing good about this hostel and I would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerCarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Lets just say it was one night too many.. There was too many people assigned to our room and we came home to people in our beds. The showers were cold all day and night!! The next room we were assigned was just a sectioned off side of the common area so the walls were thin and no windows in there no ventilation. It was by far the worst experience of my life!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marieschultze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hostel is horrible. I paid and reserved a 6 bed mixed, and when I got to my room there were beds on the floor so they could cramp as many people in as possible. Also, the hostel is run by a bunch of teenagers that have no customer service and ignore your questions while their playing x box In the common area. The location is good, but I highly suggest not staying here. Also, they turn the air conditioner off at 6 am, just when it's getting hot! Horrible staff, bad beds and there are no "6 beds", they have atleast 8 bunks in there. Horrible!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessagracexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed a night here while doing some travelling around Croatia. At €13 for the night you get exactly what you pay for, standard beds, bathrooms and kitchenette with a small balcony with seats for the sun. The wifi was excellent and we had no problems with any noise or light despite the location. The family that run it had poor English but left us be for the duration of our stay.

Don't disregard this hostel just because of the reviews!

Room Tip: The rooms just to the right inside the entrance doors are the best (rooms 1-3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagab0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Tifani Luxury Rooms
Tifani Luxury Rooms
#66 of 463 in Split
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Split Garden Hostel
Split Garden Hostel
#161 of 463 in Split
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diocletian's Rooms
Diocletian's Rooms
#203 of 463 in Split
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Split
Hostel Split
#37 of 463 in Split
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Porta Luxury Rooms
La Porta Luxury Rooms
#14 of 177 in Split
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apinelo Hostel
Apinelo Hostel
#48 of 463 in Split
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ana

Property: Hostel Ana
Address: Hrvojeva 6, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing