We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and the owner/manager is great!”
Review of Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Hostel
Ranked #44 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Split
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect location and the owner/manager is great!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice hostel, very well located, close to everywhere! You get walking in few minutes to the Old Town, Blacvice Beach, and the best Pubs and Clubs. The beds are perfect and the bathroom and lockers too. On the other hand the bedrooms are kind of tiny, not enough space for all the people inside. The owner of this place (Lady Bird) is amazing, she was like a mother for us!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
9
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was the worst hostel on our 6 week Europe trip. We were assigned a double private room. When we got to the hostel we found out that we were in a different building all together. As we hadn't had time to get any cash, we were told to leave our bags, walk four blocks to the nearest ATM and bring back money before we could get our room (after a long day this was not a nice way to start). We then were escorted an entire block away to the other building.
Our private room consisted of a couch, covered with an old sheet. There were old worn sheets with holes on the couch as well- no blanket. The kitchen included in our suite was dirty (especially the sink) and the fan was loud (although the room appeared to have A/C there was not remote to access it). An old single mattress was propped up against the wall, and the bedroom walls, although colourful and cheerful, needed a good scrub to get all the dirt off.
On a whole we were not impressed at all. The location is good, and Ladybird was friendly, but the fact that we had to walk a block to pay, ask questions, check-in and use the wi-fi was ridiculous. To make matters worse, the amount that we paid for a one night stay was one of the priciest of our whole trip- I was thoroughly disappointed and would never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freedomlover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramblin' round
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

the best hostels feel like home the moment you step in from the moment you leave. No question thats what Beach Hostel Split is like! the common area is smartly place to allow for the most guest interaction, which is personally my favorite part of a hostel. Everything else is kosher too with a nice outside patio, free internet, very comfy beds, very close to a nice beach and popular bars.

Also I have to say that I stayed in a few hostels in Split and most of them are a little too hectic being typically in a very high traffic tourist area. Beach Hostel Split is close but far away enough from the tourist hustle to get some peace. A lot of backpackers have weak common areas which makes it difficult to meet fellow travelers(which is the very spirit of backpacking!). Also its kept very clean compared to some of the hostels(which i wont mention out of courtesy). Its also worth mentioning that it is a rather small area and while it definitely works, the bathrooms and kitchen are pretty small, it would be hard to cook a big meal here.

Travelers that want to be pampered should just as well skip the hostels in Split and opt for a hotels.... travelers that wont a more authentic backpacking experience should get to Beach Hostel Split ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaneSalvage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Beach Hostel is in a great location, just up the road from the beach and restaurants. Ladybird is very helpful and extremely welcoming and for this reason the hostel has a lovely atmosphere. There isn't really any decent cooking facilities though, so expect to eat out. On the up side Split has some inexpensive fantastic food.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tripping84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was the best hostel ! I felt like if I was at home. Ladybird (the host) is soooo nice and she makes you feel comfortable! The hostel is well located, 2 minutes walk to the beach and good restaurants! I highly recommend this place! I was supposed to stay just for a night and decided to stay for 4 nights. Good price too !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Lots of rave reviews on booking.com, but we didn't agree! The bathrooms were small (even by European standards), unclean and smelly. In one of the two bathrooms you have to half climb over the washing machine to get into the bath. The dorm room (with 5 beds) was so hot at night, despite being quite large, the widow open and the fan on, that none of us could sleep! Staff were almost bordering on rude and were largely unhelpful. No kitchen facililties but a fridge for food storage. Fast and free internet access on one computer for all guests to share. Good location if you want to be close to the beach (5mins walk) but about 15mins walk from the old town. As two female travelers, we didn't feel that safe walking to/from the old town at night and tried to aviod this; it may be better in a group. Overall not a pleasent stay at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emahamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

The Beach Hostel in Split is definitely one of the best places to be for backpacker from all over the world.

Although the accommodation facilities are simple, you'll find everything you need as a backpacker: a good bathroom, free internet, a nice lounge to sit down and talk to the other backpackers from all over the world and: an awesome host, who will tell you everything you need to know about Split (Mrs. Ladybird, thanks a lot ).

The location of the hostel is quite good: it's just a few minutes from the train station and about 3min by car from the port. If you arrive by car, you can let it in the street (for free), so there's no worry about this.

To the beach, you just have to walk about 5min, to the old town (Diocletians Palace), you have a comfortable way of about 15min by foot. So, everything seems to be just in your neighbourhood.

The only thing I did not appreciate was the price. 25 Euros per person in a double room is just a bit too much for a backpacker accomodation!! 18 Euros would have been enough!

Just go there and check it out!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CafePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.9 mi away
Tchaikovsky Hostel Split
0.4 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Private Accommodation Raspudic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Split Backpackers 2
1.5 mi away
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
Hostel 101 Dalmatians
#25 of 494 in Split
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Split Garden Hostel
Split Garden Hostel
#219 of 494 in Split
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hostel

Property: Beach Hostel
Address: Viska 9, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beach Hostel! Enjoy chilling at the beach all day. Try your hand at Picigin. Watch the locals play. It's more than just keeping the ball up while diving around in the water. It's pretty amazing and lots of fun. Bacvice is the ONLY beach in Split awarded the 'Blue Flag' for clean swimming water & safety. * We are only a few steps from the Beach! * We are in the city Center, only a 7 minute walk to the train, bus, ferry and airport drop off point. Diocletian's Palace, Old Town & all tourist sites, yep 7 min walk. (NO need for buses). We are Your home away from Home! How to start the day; Dress up with swimming suit and slippers; perhaps enjoy the Free Cafe and Tea on our cool artistic balcony, "created by previous guests". Grab your towel, walk for a few steps (We are not on the water, but Less than a minute walk from the beautiful Adriatic Sea. Afternoon; Chill, chill, chill perhaps play a few tunes on the guitar while enjoying your bear or perhaps a glass of vine on the balcony with your new friends or fellow travelers. Evening; Get ready for a night out! Bacvice has the MOST popular nightlife in Split with over 20 bars, restaurants, cafes & discos, right ON the water. Open until 5:00 in the morning and let`s not forget the big after party: Night swimming in the Adriatic sea. Bacvice is the MOST popular beach in Split. It's the ONLY beach locals & tourists go to swim and party. We have a Friendly English and Scandinavian speaking staff We offer advice on Split & all of Croatia. We have a Common Room with TV, DVDs and Book exchange. Ladybird's cool art decor is covering the walls. We have a lot of fun but discourage groups of irresponsible drinkers. If you need quiet night at home, the party leaves the house at 23:00 o'clock All new linen this year! We got the best steamer from Norway so we are steam cleaning the hostel. We also wash our sheets beyond 60 degrees Celsius. So we believe to be the cleanest hostel in the city ;o) We offer; * New fully equipped kitchen for you to use * Free Wi-Fi and guest computer * Free use of our Skype headset * Free lockers where You can fit Your whole backpack * Lights and plugins above every bed * New windows with mosquito net * Free luggage storage * Free street parking * Free towel hire * Free all new linens * Free maps * Laundry service & more. * Clean, safe and fun! * 24-hour check-in * Flexible check - out time * No curfew Make sure to check out our pictures on Facebook (Beach Hostel) If you need to contact us before booking you'll find all the contact info you need there ;o) * Please include an approximate arrival time. * 1 euro per person per day tax is additional & not included in the price. * Cancellations at least 24 hours before arrival, otherwise first night is charged. Check-out: 11:00 Check-in: 14:00 (2:00 PM). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing