We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel”

Silver Central Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Central Hostel
Ranked #183 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Great, central hostel! We booked a private double and got our own 1 bedroom apartment with kitchenette and bathroom! It was wonderful! The staff was so so helpful and gave lots of great recommendations for dining and activities!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

I booked this hostel well in advance of my trip based on reliable reviews but quite a while after I made the booking I got a message to say there was a mistake and the hostel was overbooked so I had to be 'upgraded' to an apartment on the other side of the palace near their sister hostel, silver gate. What I suspected (which turned out to be true) was that I had been bumped out to accommodate a later group booking which I think is a little dishonest. At first I wasn't that bothered, but the 3 bed dorm in the apartment isnt as nice, although it is spacious. My blanket smelled and needed washing. They didn't clean the room while I was there, just swapped the sheet for a new one. The floor was very dusty and the bathroom wasnt mopped either. The kitchen is ill equipped and the only way to make a cuppa was to boil water on the stove as there was no kettle or tea towels. You can go down and use the other hostel but this was full of the school group and you shouldn't have to walks down the road to make a cup of tea! Perhaps silver central hostel is very nice, just be sure you actually end up staying there. If you're arriving late the silver gate hostel is close to the bus station and a good location for exploring the palace (so is the apartment which is actually in the corner tower of the palace itself).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavenderhoney84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

A great budget accommodation. Why pay more? Clean, modern and very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blurtsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed in "the apartment." I was travelling on my own and the entrance and stairwell on the way to the apartment were not well-lit and a bit creepy at night by myself. That being said, I would recommend it otherwise- it was clean, not too far away, quiet, air-conditioned, and there was a kitchen. This would work well for a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperPicnicWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Silver Central hostel is located in a great location very close to the Palace.

However the rooms have no cooling/air conditioning which cause a problem during the hotel Croatian summers. Also, due to its location in the city, opening the windows lets much of the local bar noise disturb your sleep. Also, the hostel seems to attract large groups, so its not the most social place i've stayed.

However, Split itself is lovely, and the hostel staff are very helpful. Free internet access is available.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britingermany789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hostel is only small but has evrything you could need and has recently been modernised and updated. The only complaint i have was that when i stayed there was a big party there and i got no sleep, i since complained to the hostel owners who have appologised and asssured me that in future there will always be someone at the hostel or contactable 24hrs by phone should such an incident arise again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistymcnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Silver Central Hostel is a great place to stay if you are travelling on a shoestring and visiting Split. Its very small but the living area is great. You can watch DVD's on the massive TV screen and although they don't have a kitchen they have provided a camping stove with plates/bowls/cups/crockery on the kitchen table (there is also a fridge and microwave- but not on the table). They also provide free internet. The bathrooms are shared with the other guests. There is a female and male bathroom. The female bathroom has 2 showers, two toilets and two sinks. There is not enough hot water to last over 3 short showers - so be quick at busy times! They have a washing machine and a tumble dryer (50 croatian kunas) which can fit many many many clothes in (if you squish them in).

We stayed in a shared room. The bunk beds were pretty comfy - actually i quite liked the pillows they provided. However it was a nightmare if you woke up early and didnt want to wake up any of the other guests in the room - the large metal lockers made that an impossible task.

The guests who were at the hostel when we were there were mostly from Oz. They were also only staying for 1 or 2 nights as they were doing Croatia Sail which we majorly regret not doing!

The staff were ridiculous. THE most unhelpful and slowest people you will ever meet. There was two of them - you could say that they didn't exactly see eye to eye. One would text all day, the other would stand on the stairs and smoke for the other half of the day! On arrival we were starving and in desperate need of heading to a supermarket to by some food. They told us there was only ONE supermarket in Split! So we used our initaiative and found many many others. Other than the staff it was a great place to stay - lots of friendly & fun guests

Thank We_love_Brody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.3 mi away
Private Accommodation Raspudic
0.9 mi away
Apartments Matic
Apartments Matic
#225 of 512 in Split
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ark Beach Apartments
Ark Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Stobrec
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#24 of 58 in Split
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Central Hostel

Address: Kralja Tomislava 1, Split, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 512 Specialty Lodging in Split
Price Range: $21 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing