We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salvezani Apartment
Ranked #14 of 165 Split B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to be recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our experience not at all like other reviewers. Emailed and phoned owner to tell her of our arrival time but instead of meeting us as arranged, she turned up 2 hours late and blamed us for delay. Apartment while 'quirky' was also not ready being full of someone else's belongings, incuding clothes hanging in the tiny (1 yard square) 'bathroom', ironing board in the living room and dirty dishes in the sink - also bed unmade. Owner recommended 2 cafes, 1 of which we were supposed to have the included breakfast was closed all the time we were there (and no reduction for missed breakfasts). We stayed in 5 lovely apartments in Croatia but while this was the most expensive, it was not one of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salvezani, Owner at Salvezani Apartment, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I would like to sincerely apologise that the service didn't meet your expectations.

The check-in time is 2pm on the day of the arrival. However, we will always do our best to accommodate earlier arrivals or later departures as we're aware that everyone has different travelling arrangements to and from Split. It has always been our number one priority to ensure that all of our guests fully enjoy their stay in Split.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
65
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beautiful, quircky apartments right in the heart of Split. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and felt very welcomed by the apartment owner who went out of her way to make us comfortable. Her advise was fantastic and took us to some great restaurants. The homely feel to these wonderfully restored apartments made it very difficult to leave. I hope we get to visit Split agan one day, and if we do we will certainly be staying at Salvenzani.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colstar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great location, wonderful old building. Yes, there are stairs - one flight or so. The owner went out of her way to help us find a taxi for an early-morning departure, and gave us excellent restaurant advice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other apartments, but the one we stayed in was renovated superbly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I booked this apartment in June after seeing all the glowing reviews and then I got worried when I saw the negative review from July. My experience was very positive and I would recommend this place very highly just like the earlier reviewers.

It's true that anywhere inside the old city walls there are stairs and small passages, but in my mind, this is why you stay in an old city: to experience history. The apartment itself was actually very comfortable and the stairs up to the apartment were better maintained than the stairs in other parts of the city. We were in apartment 3.

We arrived and were met and let in by the owner's assistant or friend who showed us everything we needed. I'd recommend that you email your exact arrival time so you can be let in. It's a bit tough to find if you are brand new to the city but the location is excellent.

The apartment was quite homey, with more little details and useful things than your average rental apartment. It had a lot of character, little decorations, guidebooks and resources, and some DVDs and books to use. Still, it was very clean and orderly.

When we arrived, I took a picture of the bedroom which I've attached to this review. It was very clean and the mattress was very comfortable (firm which I like). The bedroom had very high quality windows with shutters you could use to block out or let in light. I didn't hear the bells at night and the AC worked well. The bathroom was small but had great water pressure and plenty of hot water.

Since we didn't meet the owner upon our check in, she dropped by the next day to see that we had everything we needed. She was great.

I wish there were a door between the bedroom and the living room because I wake up earlier than my husband and don't want to wake him and I couldn't figure out if the clothes washing machine had a dry cycle (but there was a drying rack which did the trick) but those were the only two remotely negative things I can say about this place. I had a great stay and the owner was wonderful to work with.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I had high expectations having read the reviews decided to book an apartment at Salvezani for the night while onroute to Zagreb. After the experience we had we have drawn two major conclusions - most of the other reviews must have been written by the owner or friends of the owner and for the price charged how can the owner justify the 'over the top' rates for the standard of accommodation and poor experience on offer???
The apartment was located within the walls of the palace about 20 minutes walk from the port.
Steps outside are high and narrow and doesn't get much better inside where anyone over a size 12 would struggle even to get through the door.
The bed wasn't made and dishes piled high in the sink gave the impression the owner had slept overnight the night before as when asked why the room wasn't ready she quickly disappeared into the bedroom and changed the sheets. In the fridge was milk that had gone off and someones leftover cheese.
The bathroom was the smallest I've ever encountered and this presented two problems. The shower could only be operated with the door open and my wife who is a size 10 got stuck on the loo and I had to pull her off - goodness know how larger persons cope!
The mattress was hard and after an uncomfortable night (had to get up and close the windows due to the church/cathedral bells), the Aircon didn't work at the time of visit.
Worse still as no breakfast was provided, the owner instructs people to visit the nearby cafe for 'a continential breakfast'. Well at 9.10am the following morning the cafe was shut and the next cafe said it hadn't been open for the last two days and didn't know when it would. That was the last straw. We told the owner this but her reply was just to shrug her shoulders as if this was our fault but didn't offer to compensate for the inconvenience of having to pay for breakfast elsewhere.
MY ADVICE - AVOID THIS APARTMENT UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY FOR THE LOCATION,HAVE A BAD NIGHTS SLEPT, NO BREAKFAST AND GIVE YOUR BODY A BAD WORKOUT GOING UP AND DOWN THE NARROW STEPS OR GETTING STUCK ON THE TOILET.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brugge888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Salvezani Apartment, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
This is the first that I feel to answer on some review.
First off all we always do our best to feel our guests confortable and wellcome to our country and our town.It is clear that is very difficult to meet the standards of our guests in question.The reason that I can only guess.
The house where apartments are is old close to 400years .During renovation we didn't change anything-the stairs are the same size as before where the people lived for centuryes.
Insinuation that I or my friends writen reviews before as a simple untrue.
Sometimes we alaud our guests to extend their stay in apartments specialy if they are waiting for ferry, bus ar plane without any additional charge and apartment are ready in last moment whitch was the case here (check in time 2pm).
As for the church bells- the church is there for last 1700years and this is the first time i believe that somebody complain about the church bells.
Once again I feel very sorry that we didn't meet the expectation of our guests and thanks for taking time to write the review.

Irina Salvezani, owner
apartments Salvezani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We too arrived after a week's sailing holiday from Split and were welcomed by Irina and shown into her wonderful little apartment right in the centre of the Palace, with all facilities including a washing machine! The apartment is very tastefully decorated and ingeniously fitted - they even managed to fit a shower into the tiny toilet. This is an excellent base for exploring old Split and the surrounding area, and Irina proved a kind and generous hostess. We hope to be back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I can only echo the overwhelmingly positive things that other reviewers have said. The apartments are extremely comfortable and provide the best possible location for all the best things that Split has to offer. The owner Irina was absolutely brilliant with us and made the difference between a very good holiday and a great one. The apartments are located within a few minutes of the Old Town's best bars and restaurants so a night out is easy, although bear in mind that given its location people do work close by so sometimes you do hear the locals going to work in the morning. All in all I couldn't recommend the apartments, Split and Irina enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.4 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#20 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antique Split Luxury Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Kastel 1700
B&B Kastel 1700
#26 of 57 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Split Apartments - Peric Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salvezani Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvezani Apartment

Property: Salvezani Apartment
Address: Dominisova 10, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These three beautifully restored apartments are situated in the very heart of Diocletian's palace. The house that they are in was built in 16th century. Two apartments are split-level and encompass second floor and attic space and measure 30m2 and 35m2 respectively. The third apartment is on the first floor and has a separate entrance. It is worth noting that in recent years, Diocletian's Palace has been used as a filming location for the HBO series "Game of Thrones". For those of you who are familiar with it, you will for example,see streets and basements of Diocletian's Palace in parts of Daenerys Targaryen's city of Meereen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Salvezani Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing