We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional meal”
Review of Trattoria Bajamont

Trattoria Bajamont
Ranked #44 of 386 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good traditional meal”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our first meal in Croatia was at Trattoria Bajamonte, and it was a good place to start. Everything was flavorful and prepared with care. The daily handwritten menu provides some insight into the freshness of the food. The restaurant is small, but has another larger space across the alley that looks a little less traditional. The service is kind of spotty, but overall it was a nice meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    179
    66
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Some good, some average”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Cute little restaurant inside the old city walls of Split. The service was fast and friendly, but we were the only people in the restaurant (low season). We had 2 beautiful soups, but the main courses were a bit variable. Seafood pastas were good, but the grills were average at best. Very reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bagfromthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent fish dishes”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Good wine and great fish in a cozy location right in the old city of Split. We had three "brodettos" (a thick and tasty fish soup) that were served in a huge saucepan. The fish was succulent, the prawns fresh and juicy. We also asked for a stew of broad beans and artichokes that went really well with our fish. Service was quick and fairly welcoming. We closed our lunch off with a plate of local cheese. Prices are affordable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleobulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious but overpriced”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I ate here on a local public holiday so it was extremely busy and service was a bit slow as a result. But no matter. The food was really good. I had the most incredible homemade gnocchi with prawns in a fennel sauce to start - the fennel flavours really shone through. My grilled tuna, which followed, was perfectly cooked. It was a very generous portion that I struggled to finish. The food dishes were very good value, given the high standard of cooking. I thought the wine was overpriced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBusyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Italian meets Croatian”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Very nice blend of Italian and Croatian cuisine. Great prices and a great location in the centre of Split's old town.

Helpful?
Thank DynamoWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Bajamont also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Trattoria Bajamont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing