We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”
Review of Konoba Varos

Konoba Varos
Ranked #50 of 386 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brac Island, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been here lot of times and I enjoyed every single time.
Almost every time we take the same-octobus salat as a starter and fresh grill fish as a main. This is probably their best dish.. Really simple but very fresh and tasty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    161
    65
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great risotto and seafood carpaccio”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Conveniently located close to old town but on a quieter side street, this restaurant served up some delicious cuttlefish risotto and seafood carpaccio. Good value in Split, which charges tourist prices for most food and can be a bit daunting. Server was nice and attentive and the meal was a decent value. Good for traditional Croatian selections.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You can do a lot better”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

There is absolutely nothing special here. The service was surly, no atmosphere and pretty pricey for the food quality. We had a risotto dish and pasticada - this dishes came out in less than 10 minutes - they tasted like pre-prepared food. I would not recommend or return. There are so many superior restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DebB-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A family den of tradition & food-love”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I came across this little gem by chance whilst wondering the maze of Split, Croatia.

The locals were sitting outside on a hot summers night dishing from the plentiful dishes on their tables.

The very charming and friendly waiter/owner asked if I would like to see their menu... The rest is a satisfied "yes" history.

The beef Pasticada is a must. It's stuffed with fresh garlic and slow cooked in smoked paprika tomato sauce. It's completely value-for-money and the fresh beer refreshes the Mediterranean heat.

Love love love.

Helpful?
Thank Foody-doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped for.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went there on the first night after it was recommended to us by the owner of the apartment we were staying at. We had the 'Catch of the day' and a side order each and weren't full at all. We have had more satisfying meals subsequently elsewhere in the Old Town at a more reasonable price which is why I'm not too keen to recommend this one. On average we spent 350 Kunas for food and drink and were satisfied and at Konoba Varos we spent 490 Kunas and weren't.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troketia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Varos also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing