We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated ...”
Review of Konoba Varos

Konoba Varos
Ranked #51 of 370 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overrated ...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went to this restaurant after reading the reviews. We were disappointed about the quality of the food and the service. The waitress was friendly but disorganised, the service was slow. The fish was fresh but too oily. Not value for money. Good ambience for a drink and a snack.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jokouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    158
    64
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State of Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh food and friendly service, great for families”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Konoba Varos (pronounced "Varosh") was recommended by our local contact. We found the food here fresh and well-prepared, and the service friendly and attentive, with extra consideration given to children. Much better value for money than many other places in Split with the same quality. The house wine was very drinkable, and the servings generous. It is also in a convenient location north of the Riva in the old fishermen's sector but not packed with quite so many tourists so it felt more relaxing. The atmosphere is very much of an old family restaurant, the opposite of slick and shiny, and we appreciated this after a week in Split. We were sorry we had not found this place earlier in our visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anya_waite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended by the people we hired our apartment from, and it really lived up to our expactations. I chose (yet again) the octopus salad, and although a little more expensive than the restaurants we visited in Southern Croatia, the portion was so huge that I embarrased both my wife and my family by requesting that I cancel the mains course I had ordered (Escolope Zagreb style). This was done cheerfully by a very accommodating waiter (I wish I had asked his name so I could thank him once again!) The fish platter for two was huge and quite inexpensive. A children's meal of gnocci was prepared promptly once our grand-daughter awoke, and the waiter even managed to find a portion of chocolate cake and a candle to that we could wish my wife "a very happy birthday".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phebianMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The patissada is by far one of the best I've had in Croatia. Nicely marinated in prosec wine and bursting with flavour. The generous meat portions are perfectly complemented by their homemade potato dumplings.

No wonder why the locals fervently recommend the place. Though, they certainly take their time to bring you the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a fun restuarant”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Enjoyed the traditional Croatian food at the restaurant. The service was a bit slow. The décor was charming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Varos also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing