We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Kaleta Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaleta Apartments
Ranked #15 of 196 Split B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A little harder to find than other places but we arranged to meet the owner in a common area and were escorted to the building. Thank goodness because even with a map I am not sure we would have easily found it. The room was nice, small but nice, with a very high ceiling again. It was fairly clean. It had everything we needed though in a small space, it was more like what we had expected from our previous trips to Europe. For some reason on this trip all of our rooms have been a little more spacious than we had braced ourselves for. Oddly enough this bathroom was little larger than most and the throne was significantly higher than most for some reason. It had a small but functional kitchenette.

You have to pay attention to where you are here and how to find your way back. It wasn’t impossible but with all the narrow twisty streets (if you can call something 4 feet wide a street) you had to pay close attention to landmarks/locations to find your way around.

For the price it was a nice place, good value at 75 Euros (with no breakfast) considering others we had priced out. I would recommend it for a shorter stay, for a longer stay I would probably err on the side of little more space.

Previous Hotel – Villa Fio, Hvar Croatia
Next Hotel – Hotel Una Century, MIlan Italy

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our stay at Kaleta Apartments did not start off well; it was a case of mismatched expectations. The owner was not there when we arrived, even thought I'd sent him an email clearly stating when we would arrive, and we were on time. So I expected him to be there. His expectation was that we would arrive and call him. Unfortunately, he did not tell us to do that, so we waited 45 minutes and then called out of desperation. We were hot, tired, and pretty upset by that time.

We felt much better, however, after seeing the apartments. We had rented two, one for us and another for my mom who was traveling with us. The apartments are beautiful and they are quite large for old-town accommodations. The furniture and fixtures were good quality, and the bathroom had a great shower. We had a little kitchen which came in very handy - coffee and tea were supplied. It was a great place to come "home" to after a day of being tourists.

Our air conditioner did not work well and my wife sent the owner an email asking him to look into it. He fixed it later that same day and the difference was remarkable. We slept much better the second night!

We would certainly rent these apartments again, but next time we will call the owner as soon as we arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLVotaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was just outside the walls of the Diocletian's Palace, right in the centre of everything. We had the suite - a spacious room with some kitchen facilities, very nicely presented. We had a bit of trouble finding the apartments in the first place, but in the end I recognised it from the picture! Our apartment itself was just round the corner. As previously mentioned by other reviewers, Kaleta apartments are very well thought-out. There is good WIFI, as well as computer that guests can use. Neno was incredibly helpful, letting us leave our luggage in the room when we arrived early, and allowing us to store it in the lobby when we departed late! He also gave us lots of background and history of the apartments. The road outside is noisy but the windows are incredible at soundproofing! We have no complaints whatsoever and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in Kaleta apartments for 2 nights in October 2012. We loved everything about the apartment - it was clean, bright, spacious enough, in a building full of the local character and right in the middle of old town. There was a little kitchette attached, and though not too large it is well equipped. Wifi is free and works well. They even provide a laptop for use of their guests. We had read reviews that sometimes the street noise is disturbing but atleast in apt 3, we heard nothing at all.
There are bars, restaurants, pizzerias, cafes literally steps away from the apartment. The city is compact and can be covered on foot easily from this central accomodation.
The last mile to the apartment can only be reached on foot, please bear that in mind if you have any challenges in walking or if you intend to carry a lot of luggage. The hosts are special, full of smiles and stories. We had a lovely stay and will go back whenever in Split.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavna0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Kaleta apartments was clean, convenient, and comfy. It is a little difficult to find, but the owner sent an email with directions and a picture to make it easier. He wasn't there when we arrived and our SIM card wasn't working, so we had to ask the bartender at the bar downstairs to call him for us, which he happily did. He showed up 10 minutes later to let us in and show us around. The building is over 500 years old, and he has done an amazing job updating and modernizing the place. He was super congenial and helpful with advice, directions, etc. There was even a computer to use as well as maps and info about the city. As other reviewers have pointed out it is above a ba which gets busy and smoky at night. But the windows are virtually soundproof. I'm a very light sleeper and had absolutely no issues.
Pros: wifi and computer, great shower/bathroom, super comfy bed, A/C, central location, kitchenette w/electric kettle, spacious
Cons: none :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the Kaleta Apartments for two nights. We were thoroughly comfortable. The apartment is in a noisy neighborhood, but the windows manage to shut out all the noise so even a light sleeper like myself slept well. We rented the larger apartment (referred to as the suite) at 70 Euros a night. It has one large room containing the bed, TV, AC, small corner kitchen (microwave, cook top, refrigerator), table with 4 chairs, and a sofa that makes into a bed. It has an ensuite bathroom with shower. Everything is clean, modern and works well. I liked the exposed ceiling beams and stone walls that show the building's medieval heritage. Our room and two other apartments share a homey, sitting room containing a computer, and for tasting, some local fruits and liqueurs. Everything about this apartment from reserving the room to check in/out was well organized.

Room Tip: For 10 Euros more per night, the "suite" which is actually just the largest room is the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diamondsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent location and appearance of kaleta apartments makes me feel to visit again.The apartment portraits the history with modern facilities.All rooms were spacious, clean, well decorated and well equipped....

Room Tip: Studio roooms are very good and they have also big flats for family...enjoy the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopikrishna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartments Gajeta
Apartments Gajeta
#24 of 57 in Split
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Marmont Hotel Heritage
#10 of 57 in Split
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#7 of 57 in Split
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nirvana Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaleta Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaleta Apartments

Address: Majstora Jurja 4, | Iza loze 4, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range: $54 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaleta Apartments is great value in Split historic center within the palace walls. This splendid accommodation was created by merging two houses which are a stone's throw apart. Every single room is well appointed with carefully preserved old world ambience, combined with wonderful bathrooms and bedrooms. The location is awesome - right in the heart of downtown. Other features include small touches that make a huge difference - use of a laptop, WiFi, satelite, LCD TV, kitchenette, electric kettle, AC in every room, design linen, four pillows, extra blankets, well-stocked bathrooms with hair dryer, local artwork, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kaleta Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaleta Apartments Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing