We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Location. Nicely Appointed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmont Hotel Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Central Location. Nicely Appointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights in Split toward the end of our Croatian vacation. We arrived via ferry from Hvar about 10 AM. The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk away from the ferry station... but with the many narrow streets around old town Split... we had a problem originally finding the exact location of the hotel. However... we were able to find a street vendor who was able to point us in the right direction.

We arrived at the hotel before check-in time... but were able to leave our bags behind so we could go out and venture around the city. First we grabbed a quick lunch along the Riva and decided to take in Diocletian's Palace. I highly recommend going through the palace... including the underground halls. We also ventured up the many steps of the clock tower to get amazing views of Split and the surrounding area.

After a day of exploring Split... we checked into our hotel. The service to us was friendly (giving us a good dinner suggestion) and the room was nice... although a bit small. It met all of our needs at a fair price of 200 Euro per night. The room was extremely clean and still very new. Easy to sleep... even though you are right in the center of Split. The breakfast buffet was in the lobby of the hotel just off the front desk in a small area. Not a huge selection as compared to some of the other hotels we stayed at in Croatia... but it was a good way to get the day started.

At night... we would get dinner at a nearby restaurant and then stop for some gelato for my wife. With gelato in hand... we would wander the Riva where enjoying the evening and doing some people watching seemed to be the activity of many people. It was also packed with people... and we always felt safe.

Our second day in Split we booked an excursion to Krka National Park. This was an amazing experience that lasted much of the day. The waterfalls were amazing and the walk around the park extremely beautiful and relaxing. Food at the park was okay... so don't expect anything special. Overall... this was one of the reasons we stayed in Split... to take a day trip to Krka NP.

The next day we left for our departure city... Dubrovnik. We took the bus... which was very reasonably priced (slips my mind how much exactly it cost). Overall... I am glad we took the time to spend a couple days in Split. Even though a bigger city... it has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkoz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    112
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
211
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Lovely modern hotel in an excellent location, about a 10 minute walk from the main bus station or a 5 minute walk from the airport bus stop, but both well sign posted. We were lucky to get a free upgrade to a superior room on arrival which was lovely and the view was onto the quant street below. The room was of a good size, very clean and ready on arrival (even though we arrived at 9.30am).
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, good choice of food and plenty. Would definitely recommend this great find.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Always a little skeptical with internet bookings but no problem here! booked quite a long way in advance so saved a huge amount - we paid 100euro a room, walk in rate is 250! Very convenient location - literally walk to everywhere! unconditional recommendation

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed 2 nights here. Room pleasant but small. Clean. Overpriced at €250. At this price you perhaps would expect a smile at the reception. Generally the attitude here was "Why should we care, we've already got your money" So definitely wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amenophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

To begin with, the location is brilliant - right on the edge of the Old Town, just seconds from the blue waters of the sea. Secondly, the staff were very helpful and friendly. And thirdly the room itself was fantastic - plus the bathroom was huge and opulent.
There is an airport bus about 2 minutes walk from the hotel which makes it very easy to get to and from there, and if, like me, you are getting off a boat in the harbour, it is about 3 minutes walk from there.
There is a good choice of breakfast and it is constantly being refreshed. There is also a free internet service which is a nice touch as well as a terrace to sit out on if you're tiring of the city and would like a break.
Overall I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planes_need_leg_room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrésy, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

I had a standard room, which in fact was very comfortable. However there was no view and some people might find this claustophobic. Location is perfect for discovering old Split. Modern bathroom is more designed for appearance than practicality - no soap dish in shower, impossible to block sink, no convenient place to hang towels. The breakfast room is a bit cramped and the musak put me in a very bad mood for 1/2 the morning (I have a particular allergy to muzak).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradeform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed in the beautiful Marmont Hotel for 2 nights in early summer.

Rooms: Large, luxurious and comfortable.
Location: Excellent, city centre loction.
Cleanliness: Clean and well maintained.
Breakfast: Fantastic breakfast in a cute little room off reception.

However, please beware before you book this hotel as there is major construction taking place in the adjoining building. The extremely loud drilling commences at 8am an does not cease until 6pm. Therefore you will not have a relaxing stay or the pleasure of a lie-in or afternoon nap. The drilling and hammering woke us up at 8am precisely and when I complained to reception the receptionist advised that there was "nothing they could do". The manager refused to come to speak with us and said they were allowed to make noise between these hours. I asked could we move hotel rooms as they were basically on the other side of our room - which they agreed to but when I did you could still hear the construction. The hotel itself was lovely but it was definately not the relaxing & romantic break we were hoping for. Rude and unhelpful staff & manager.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vestibul Palace
0.2 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmont Hotel Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmont Hotel Heritage

Property: Marmont Hotel Heritage
Address: Zadarska 13, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Marmont)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Split
#9 Romantic Hotel in Split
#10 Luxury Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmont Hotel Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marmont Hotel is located in the heart of the Old Town of Split, only one minute away from Diocletian's Palace, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The elegant rooms all feature individually adjustable air conditioning, dark walnut furniture, oak wood floors, flat-screen cable TV, a large work space and a minibar. The spacious bathroom comes with a hairdryer. An exclusive restaurant Marsal is recently opened within Marmont hotel.Located in the city center, a blend of tradition and modern, a top quality and variety of dishes prepared by top chefs that will not leave you indifferent. The Marmont hotel has an open-air terrace overlooking the Old Town's rooftops. The staff is available 24 hours a day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building. Laundry services as well ironing facilities are available. The train and bus stations and the port of Split, are only 500 meters away from Hotel Marmont. Bacvice Beach can be reached within a 10-minute walk. Kastela Airport is 22 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Marmont Hotel Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmont Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing