We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book this place now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Konoba Fetivi

Konoba Fetivi
Ranked #10 of 354 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Our small family restaurant is run by Father & Chef, preparing dishes that are passed on by his mother and grandmother. Our family lives in this neigborhood for more than 300 years. Blessed by the heavenly Adriatic, seafood is mainly our thing. As we depend on the weather working with fish, daily menu is flexible. Vegetables are bought on the bazaar behind the palace & the fish-market is 100m away. Even our wine & olive oil is made by local family producers. Enjoy traditional Dalmatian dishes in friendly atmosphere.. Welcome foodies!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book this place now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

After much convincing from my boyfriend I agreed to eat here as he had heard great reviews! I had nothing against this place- just had never been keen on fish and never ordered it in a resteraunt! Well it was amazing!!!!!! We had to book as it is a small place but they try their best to accommodate all and offer 2 sittings a night! The staff are all friendy and very knowledgable about the food they offer. The owners son served us and spoke through all the menu, the fish and what sides he would recommend! As I was not a big fish person he picked a "meaty" fish out for us and I really enjoyed it! He then served and filleted the fish for us! Could not fault this place at all and good value for money as a lot of care is taken in what they do here ! Best place I have eaten in 3 weeks of travelling around Europe ! Thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethgrace121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    246
    64
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Split, Croatia and 3 weeks in Europe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

After reading the reviews for this restaurant, we were eager to go and we were not disappointed. We shared mussels and shrimp for starter, golden mullet for main, and tiramisu for dessert. We are not regular fish eaters, and the waiters help was invaluable (he even filleted our fish for us). The food was amazing, and the service was equal to it. Make sure you book as the restaurant is small and very popular - people were being turned away as we were eating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
311 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Food is OK - a little pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The restaurant seems to be very popular, but pretty much based on tourists. The food is just ordinary, but a little bit pricy compared to the others. The service is kind, but the waiter didn't use pen and paper when the orders were done and some things were forgotten.

This place felt like a tourist trap - not the worst in that league and not a big disappointment either, but somehow the client was not there to be served, but to be cashed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Protravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piple, Owner at Konoba Fetivi, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
When we come across reviews like this, we can only say that people are different and every once in a while person cannot communicate, be relaxed and work thru a misunderstanding.. and how sometimes an honest human mistake, like forgetting one thing can be so unforgiving!? Why such a mean reaction instead of just a little patience.. Now is the high season, the peak, Croatia has more tourists then locals, but we are not a seasonal restaurant. We are not here just to serve the tourists in the summer! So calling us, a whole-year-running small family Konoba a tourist trap, is a very serious insult! We even may ask ourselves is it stimulated by the competition. Although I wouldn't call them that, as there are not many places to eat similar to ours. We are popular mostly because of almost 200 great reviews so this one is maybe only trying to look different. We do not squeeze our guests on tables to take more orders but offer some commodity compared to ones in the city center, and we reject over 40 people a day, so please don't call us money-grabbers as those disgust us and are a shame to the whole Croatian tourism. You can only wish there are more places like ours, honest, laid-back family hospitality. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Raved about this place for days it was that good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great service, fantastic konoba. Even though it was a hot July evening we chose to sit inside, glad we did. Old photos and rowing blades adorn the walls which all adds to the great atmosphere. The waiter was highly knowledgeable about the 'catch of the day' and fish that was in season. The prsut ham on the bar is INCREDIBLY good! Important to book in advance in high season, while we were there we saw a steady stream of people wanting tables. Great place, don't change!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good quality - make sure you book!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is high on TA and has only 3 outdoor tables. So, in peak season make sure you book several days in advance. We saw lots of people being turned away. The food was good but not exceptional. Croatian cooking of fish/seafood tends to be simple - fried or grilled - and relies on freshness and quantity. I had 'stone' clams for starters and grilled tuna steak for main. My husband is allergic to fish/seafood and they were able to prepare a simple meat dish for him. Service was was polite and courteous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rimpsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Fetivi also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Konoba Fetivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing