We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, right enough”
Review of Fife

Fife
Ranked #66 of 384 Restaurants in Split
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of the oldest and most famous restaurants in Split, restaurant Fife offers basic traditional Dalmatians dishes. Pleasant and cheerful atmosphere in Restaurant Fife is something that You must experience when You come to Split.
Gjovik, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average, right enough”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Lunch at this restaurant was ok - ham and cheese, you cannot go wrong with that! Dinner that evening was a different story - only long tables, we had to share with two different groups. Table far from clean, even the menus were dirty. Food, grilled fish, was not bad, but not really good either. One more try a couple of nights later, it was crowded, busy - and when I didn´t finish my food, I felt I was being told off. Not a good atmosphere for two people in a slightly romantic mood. We never went back during our week long stay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finn22193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    799
    392
    196
    231
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Dalmatian food for a cheap price”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Every time I'm in Split, I come back to this "konoba" for a taste of genuine Dalmatian food. Don't expect anything fancy or inspired to nouvelle cuisine. That said, the food is tasty and the servings generous. Try the "pasticada sa njokama" and you won't be disappointed.

This restaurant is not only full of tourists (at least during summertime) because of its strategic location, but is also frequented by locals. Recommended for a really cheap and typical lunch near the center of Split.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crap fish food full of oil”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Fife is bad restaurant, don't go there. Fish is full of oil, waiters look like hipies. Bad service and food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overall taste ok, but I need more fish in my fish soup”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found Fife from local guide book, saying it's very traditional cooking, which loved by locals. So just after we arrived at Split, we went there immediately. It's a nice cozy place, due to the rain, we could not site outside, but the outdoor sitting would be much better. The order wasn't taking too long and the service was alright. Food overall taste above average, but there was no fish at all in my fish soup which was a disappointment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“doesn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fife used to be a very popular, small local place with food closest to what a dalmatian grandmother would feed you in her kitchen. Now (after changing owners?) it's huge, loud, and the food is not entirely what should be original simple local fare. We had grilled fish - it was ok, mixed seafood risotto - made with a frozen mix of shellfish and fake crab (surimi sticks), it was bad, and steamed vegetables - a bland heap of whatever. After smothering all with olive oil it was better. But the service was nice, the setting simple, and portions were big enough for two and reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isladeencanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fife also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Fife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing