We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crap fish food full of oil” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fife

Fife
Ranked #60 of 349 Restaurants in Split
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crap fish food full of oil”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Fife is bad restaurant, don't go there. Fish is full of oil, waiters look like hipies. Bad service and food.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    718
    358
    176
    209
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Overall taste ok, but I need more fish in my fish soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found Fife from local guide book, saying it's very traditional cooking, which loved by locals. So just after we arrived at Split, we went there immediately. It's a nice cozy place, due to the rain, we could not site outside, but the outdoor sitting would be much better. The order wasn't taking too long and the service was alright. Food overall taste above average, but there was no fish at all in my fish soup which was a disappointment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OliZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“doesn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fife used to be a very popular, small local place with food closest to what a dalmatian grandmother would feed you in her kitchen. Now (after changing owners?) it's huge, loud, and the food is not entirely what should be original simple local fare. We had grilled fish - it was ok, mixed seafood risotto - made with a frozen mix of shellfish and fake crab (surimi sticks), it was bad, and steamed vegetables - a bland heap of whatever. After smothering all with olive oil it was better. But the service was nice, the setting simple, and portions were big enough for two and reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isladeencanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar Island, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I like this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I went there to eat before my flight and food was pretty good. The only thing that I didn't like was that I was waiting a bit more just to order but when i did it,food was already on my table,it was a bit strange and amazing at the same time. Anyway,very cheap and delicious! worth it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaT2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
“Amazing authentic Dalmatian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Fife twice during our 3 night stay in Split. This was by far the most authentic Dalmatian food we had during our 2 week stay in Croatia for the lowest price! The first day we ordered the Pasticada and Courgettes stuffed with pork and spices. Both were delicious and huge portions perfect for sharing. We went back the next day with a few friends we had met and we all shared the Pasticada again! Family style plating. One friend ordered the special of the day and it happened to be Schnitzel and fries which he said was very good also. This is a perfect place to eat if you're on a budget or want to try the true Cuisine of Croatia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BMCVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fife also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Fife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing