We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place so much, we got married there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Absolutely love this place. Beautiful northwoods setting and a wonderful atmosphere. I have stayed there numerous times and have no plans to stop any time soon. The people are great and the accomadations are just the same. Like the title says, my wife and I got married in the lobby. That should say it all!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thumbbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Crooked River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 412 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The kitchenette allowed us to save on meal expenses.The hosts were very friendly and the rooms were well-designed with separate sleeping and living areas. The breakfast could have offered a few more items but the waffles were fine.The price was right too. We plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dxer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at the Crooked River Lodge a total of 3 nights. I love this hotel. All the rooms have a balcony overlooking a fabulous view. All the rooms have HUGE bathrooms, all are spacious with table and chairs, beds, dresser and tons of room left over. Its CLEAN no odd smells and a closet with iron and ironing board. The staff are all wonderful and friendly. I can't say a singe negative thing about Crooked River... If your in the area you can only benefit by staying with them. Its close to Petoskey but rual so no city noises and great views of the stars at night and the river during the day. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baycityfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We awoke to find little bugs in our bed. They were not bedbugs, but were tiny, like fleas. We spoke to the manager and when we arrived back to our room after a day of boating, he had put on dark green sheets. We slept(not very well) there another night and woke up with them all over our pajamas and socks. So disgusted, we couldn't wait to get out of there. The manager said that "they weren't the biting kind". That was about as much concern as he showed about the whole thing. We found a head of lettuce and dripped juice in our fridge. It ruined our whole weekend. Couldn't wait to get home and wash everything in our suitcase and just hope we hadn't brought any "friends" home with us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Karen42724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is a great looking hotel with an awesome location. Nice views with well appointed rooms. But then it is somewhat disappointing. The continental breakfast was lacking. The pool was not properly treated. The wake up service did not work. And lastly, we were almost charged twice for our room. And the bumps in the night - continued all night. This hotel could be so much more. I would not recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sailor-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Crooked River Lodge is a few miles off I-75 in northern Michigan, but it's a nice alternative to chain motels. The lodge has a northwoods theme, a little over the top in the rooms, but it's pleasant and comfortable. The setting makes for a nice break if you're traveling long distances by car, as we were. Each room has a small balcony overlooking a large yard and the river.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Ok we stayed once that was enough. If you do not like dogs do not stay here. we do like dogs but the young one kept jumping on us. th man yelled at us told us not to pet the dog. Well kinda hard not to pet him when it is jumping on you. They are allowed in the breaKfast room which I feel they should not. The younger dog took a sniff of my waffel The pool was nice The motel was nice it was the dogs. The people were not to friendly either.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mermaid989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
9.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
726 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
457 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
199 reviews
9.3 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
120 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Address: 6845 S US 31 Hwy, Alanson, MI 49706-9426 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range: $109 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing