We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crooked River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Of Harbor Springs(Harbor Springs)(Great Value!)
$100
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boyne Highlands Resort(Harbor Springs)(Great Value!)
$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Gate Motel(Indian River)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Harbor Springs)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford's Perry Hotel(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$179
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hometown Inn(Indian River)
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apple Tree Inn(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
$109
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveler rating
384
73
14
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
384
73
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitcrooked riverpaddle boatsharbor springssnowmobile triplog cabinboard gamesnorthern michiganpool tablesnow shoesindian riverbeautiful settinghot tubice waterevery morningindoor pooliced tea
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 488 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A great place to stay ,staff is very professional only one thing that needs to be done add food service to the lodge other than breakfast.Not much going on in the area but Petosky is a short drive aways as all as harbor Springs. This is a very quite place it is a perfect place to stay if your not into all of the hustle and bustle of Petoskey. We will be going back for the 4th time in less than a year and a half.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbW6743TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Crooked River Lodge afforded my family and I all the amenities that we are accustomed to. The setting right in the Crooked River was the perfect spot to feel like you were up north with the comforts of a cozy lodge just steps away. From the fire pit at night, BBQ's, nature trail, popcorn in the lobby, "delicious" hot breakfast in the morning, swimming pool & hot tub, all surrounded by a beautiful log lodge setting. It was even nice to be greeted by a guest service representative at the front desk every time we walked by. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river with a patio or balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent place. Management very friendly!!! Highly recommended. Pool area very clean. We went in the winter time and the big pool was very warm. Not like other hotels where you freeze!! Can't imagine anyone leaving negative feedback!!.. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I hesitate to recommend Crooked River Lodge wholeheartedly, because for us it is too far away from Charlevoix, Petoskey, and Harbor Springs to grab something decent to eat. The tiny village of Alanson doesn't have anything going on, so basically one is stuck at the lodge unless you want to do more driving. There are many places closer in that offer amenities. If the lodge served meals (besides breakfast), that would be a big plus. If one wants to spend all day out and about and return to the lodge in the evening, the place is fine. It just gets tedious if you're going back and forth all the time. The rooms are spacious and clean and each one has a small balcony that overlooks the river which is nice. The decor is drab and dated. This place has so much potential, but needs to be revitalized. I think of the McMenamins' properties that are scattered all over Oregon and wonder what this lodge would be like if it were to be infused with some of that Oregonian creativity and art. It could be awesome! The best things about this place are the free kayaking in the river and the lady who cooks the breakfast who is one friendly person. (One peeve: I don't understand why when we put the "Do Not Disturb" sign up, we received two phone calls and one knock at the door.) If you have a bunch of friends and family and want to enjoy a glass of wine around the fire or play frisbee on the lawn with kids or your dog, this is a great place. The Wheel Way bike path has an entry point right across the street from the lodge, but this part of the path isn't much to rave about. Still, biking access is a plus.

Room Tip: All rooms face the back and have balconies looking towards the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place was a great find and a good value. They pay attention to a lot of the 'little things' and details. The staff was very nice and helpful, they have free kayak rentals, bbq usage, clean rooms, a pool table, nice casual outdoor seating by a fire, and the list goes on. We went without our kids this time, but I think we have found a nice little getaway in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews