We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Up North Experience in Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up North Experience in Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Crooked River Lodge afforded my family and I all the amenities that we are accustomed to. The setting right in the Crooked River was the perfect spot to feel like you were up north with the comforts of a cozy lodge just steps away. From the fire pit at night, BBQ's, nature trail, popcorn in the lobby, "delicious" hot breakfast in the morning, swimming pool & hot tub, all surrounded by a beautiful log lodge setting. It was even nice to be greeted by a guest service representative at the front desk every time we walked by. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river with a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    37
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
79
78
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent place. Management very friendly!!! Highly recommended. Pool area very clean. We went in the winter time and the big pool was very warm. Not like other hotels where you freeze!! Can't imagine anyone leaving negative feedback!!.. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkle1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I hesitate to recommend Crooked River Lodge wholeheartedly, because for us it is too far away from Charlevoix, Petoskey, and Harbor Springs to grab something decent to eat. The tiny village of Alanson doesn't have anything going on, so basically one is stuck at the lodge unless you want to do more driving. There are many places closer in that offer amenities. If the lodge served meals (besides breakfast), that would be a big plus. If one wants to spend all day out and about and return to the lodge in the evening, the place is fine. It just gets tedious if you're going back and forth all the time. The rooms are spacious and clean and each one has a small balcony that overlooks the river which is nice. The decor is drab and dated. This place has so much potential, but needs to be revitalized. I think of the McMenamins' properties that are scattered all over Oregon and wonder what this lodge would be like if it were to be infused with some of that Oregonian creativity and art. It could be awesome! The best things about this place are the free kayaking in the river and the lady who cooks the breakfast who is one friendly person. (One peeve: I don't understand why when we put the "Do Not Disturb" sign up, we received two phone calls and one knock at the door.) If you have a bunch of friends and family and want to enjoy a glass of wine around the fire or play frisbee on the lawn with kids or your dog, this is a great place. The Wheel Way bike path has an entry point right across the street from the lodge, but this part of the path isn't much to rave about. Still, biking access is a plus.

Room Tip: All rooms face the back and have balconies looking towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place was a great find and a good value. They pay attention to a lot of the 'little things' and details. The staff was very nice and helpful, they have free kayak rentals, bbq usage, clean rooms, a pool table, nice casual outdoor seating by a fire, and the list goes on. We went without our kids this time, but I think we have found a nice little getaway in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our second stay at Stafford's Crooked River Lodge did not disappoint. Awarded one of my Trip Advisor "EXCELLENT SERVICE" pins. Rooms exceptionally clean. Front desk staff very helpful with arranging dinner and golf. Free Breakfast included, with food delicious and inviting. Would recommend to the most fussy travelor. Rooms nicely appointed. Amazing lobby. Wonderful view of the Indian River with balconies from king suite room. You will LOVE your stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
182 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

While in the area we stopped and stayed at the Lodge. very nicely decorated and nice rooms. Located right on the Crooked River in Alanson. The staff was friendly and the rates were reasonable.
Next time in the area we will stop back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed two nights just to get away. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast both mornings was very good. Lots of variety. Our room was a Jacuzzi room with king bed. The balcony overlooked the river.
The river was very high, so the walking paths were not available. The halls were very quiet and we did not hear anything from the adjoining rooms. There is a microwave, mini refrigerator and sink area.
This was a perfect location, just 10 minutes from Petoskey and 25 minutes from Mackinaw City. We visited both and were not disappointed in the drive.
We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
10.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Property: Crooked River Lodge
Address: 6845 N US Highway 31, Alanson, MI 49706-9426 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing