We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crooked River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Phenomenal !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is a must if you are in the area. We had 4 couples on our Harley's. The campfire at night was a real highlight for us. The rooms were very comfortable and clean not to mention the impeccable cleanliness of the entire grounds. The staff was out of this world, especially Janet, who was there at breakfast, she is so entertaining, outgoing and nice.

It was our first time here but are already making plans to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    34
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
71
75
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

When you're Up North in Michigan there's nothing sweeter than than staying in a place that looks, feels and acts Up North. This lodge is decorated with many rustic details in the lobby and in the rooms.
The Crooked River Lodge is spacious and clean, the rooms are larger than a standard room and the the little balcony that faces the Crooked River is nice for storing the cooler and for sitting and watching the stars. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. No fault of the Inn, but the people on the second floor were stompers and made some racket at night.
The room includes a decent breakfast with a homemade hot entree and the usual buffet of bread, hard cooked eggs, fruits and cereal. The entree while were there was a blueberry French toast scramble and it was very good and the blueberries were fresh. The coffee is from a local roaster and was an unexpected treat from the standard brew.
We walked the nature trail around the property, it was boggy and quite interesting with plants and flowers. There's a place to launch kayaks (which the Inn provides), but the water is murky and if you are without watershoes, you won't want to step in there. We brought our own boats and launched down the road a few miles.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us an extra hour on Sunday for check out so we could launch our kayaks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertafromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Crooked River Lodge was AWESOME, from the pet friendly king suite to the exceptional staff. We were going to stay at the Holiday Inn in Petoskey, but found their rate to be a little more than we wanted to pay. This was a great deal for the money and the location. Crooked River is located about 10 miles from Petoskey and Mackinaw is a 30 minute drive. Glens grocery store is just up Us-31 for those traveling with children, and the microwave and fridge in the room allowed us to save a lot of money on food along with the great breakfast prepared every morning, Us-31 also had the typical fast food restaurants available for those interested. My dog had plenty of pet friendly grass to romp and play on also. The fire pit was nice and roasting marshmellows with my family at night was a good way to end a busy day. I can't say enough about this facility but I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Petoskey or Mackinaw.
Wonderful, wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent three days here with our grandson, 9 years old. It was our home base for fishing in the Crooked River and elsewhere. The staff were wonderful, as much like family as can happen in three days. Janet puts the breakfast buffet together, with variation each day. That is to be expected. However she cleaned the bass that my grandson brought back in the styrofoam container that she provided before we out fishing. Then Janet showed my wife how to cook it on the grill that is available on the patio. The pool is big, with a warm waterfall that adults and kids seemed to enjoy. Life vests were provided in the pool for young children. We enjoyed the kayaks. We used the two paddle boats, but the mechanisms seemed to need a little work. The dock into the river was a great place to fish, the nature walk was enjoyable, and I saw a bird that was new to me, a green heron.

We would all love to go back again, and will try to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svenskjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My grandparent's hosted their 50th anniversary over a 3 day weekend. It was beautiful and we had a great time. The fire pit was a ton of fun and our family had a chance to relax and enjoy one another. Our family had various different styles of rooms including a large suite. The rooms had rustic decor and were very nice. The breakfast in the morning was very good. We enjoyed renting a boat and traveling down the river to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Each day starts with a hot breakfast with a different entree each day. We followed that with an hour of kayaking on the Inland Waterway. (kayaks are provided at no charge.) Toured Petoskey, Harbor Springs, The tunnel of trees and it's only 30 minutes up to Mackinaw city. The rooms are very spacious and every room has a balcony looking out over a wide lawn down to the Crooked River. The staff was very helpful and made sure you had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Breakfast was the only meal served and was included in the rate. Lots of excellent restaurants near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackorrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in the three-bedroom River House, adjacent to the main lodge. Well-equipped and nicely appointed with full deck overlooking pond and river. Really HARD beds! 24/7 pool access for adults. Comp breakfast over at 10 am - too early for my vacationers, but quite complete, and eat on the patio with roses surrounding and a spance of lush lawn to the river. Afternoon spent enjoying the comp kayaks and paddle boats. Biggest complaint...only one key is provided to the house, which is a problem when sharing the house with other adults and differing schedules. Friendly and helpful staff, prices are comparable - less than nearby Petoskey (10-15 min. away). Artesian well across road. Definately would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isit5yet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
9.8 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
10.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Property: Crooked River Lodge
Address: 6845 US 31 N, Alanson, MI 49706 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing