We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel had such a high rating, which gave us very high expectations. It was very nice, but the quality of the hotel was surpassed by the friendliness of the employees. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Very nice hotel with REALLY nice staff.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wolfie950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 449 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

When I booked my rooms, I was sent to a site that listed all of the Stafford properties. If I had read the site closer I would have seen that they list all of the amenities for ALL of the properties, not just the Resort. When we arrived we were hungry and thirsty. There are NO restaurants or bars on this property. My bad!
We had a room with a king bed. The room is oddly laid out. The bedroom is actually in the middle of the room and it has no door. There is a "pass through" window between the bedroom and living room. Since there is no direct air movement in the room, it was hard to regulate the temperature. There is also no tub of any kind. The entire room is cramped BUT it was clean.
The staff was very efficient. I would not stay here again due to the lack of food and beverages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGillicuddy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I will be celebrating our 10th anniversary in December, 2013 although our actual anniversary date is in May. We took a weekend trip to the Crooked River Lodge and it was wonderful. Close to Petoskey and Harbor Springs. My husband is an outdoorsman so this place was perfect for both of us. The room was simple but very clean and the view was beautiful. Looks as thought the hotel is on protected marshes/land. Out room had a sitting area separate from the bedroom, a kitchenette, and a bathroom. The only issue I had was no bathroom, but really not a big deal. They have a large sitting area outside with large comfortable wooden chairs for guests to sit around at night. My husband & I spent a great deal of time sitting in a wooden swing down by the water. We also took walks on their nature trail. I would definitely recommend Crooked River to anyone looking for a relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Third floor was great to see the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethA0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic Stafford's Lodge off the Crooked River. Loved all that it offered from indoor pool, good breakfast bar, friendly,informative staff, loft, outdoor fire pit, and much more. Great FAMILY weekend getaway close to golf, shopping in Petosky, Harbor Springs. Went with close friends and wished we could stay longer. Fishing out the back door a plus! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I came for two nights to celebrate a few milestones and just get away. We definitely picked the right place! The staff is incredibly friendly and on top of their jobs. We stayed in a king spa room and didn't realize it would be so spacious and have a kitchenette! We were pleasantly surprised by how HUGE the jacuzzi tub was :) Our balcony was right over the beautiful fire pit, which we really enjoyed at night :) The pool and hot tub were clean and beautiful...the pool is warm, the hot tub is huge and felt so good...and we LOVE that adults can go all day/night. The breakfast was wonderful, we loved that we could get coffee and hot chocolate all day and night, and the popcorn machine in the afternoon made our day :) Definitely recommend this place and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleymm1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to Quilt Camp at this Lodge put on by The Quilt House in Indian River, MI. Can't say enough about the wonderful stay we had. The staff really knows how to make your stay the best. We enjoyed the outdoor gas fire pit and everything about this hotel. The staff even carried our sewing machines and all of our "stuff" to where we were going to set up and sew. The food was out of this world. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: This is a must stay any time of the year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our group was there for a quilt retreat and could not have had better service anywhere. The staff does LOVE their jobs and are so outgoing and helpful. They have help for all the quilters who bring all equipment like sewing machines, tables, chairs, etc. to carry in and set up. Even on the morning of departing, a staff member had gone and swept the snow off the vehicles and helped to reload equipment and luggage into vehicles. Food for all meals was outstanding. We are looking forward to our next trip back.

Room Tip: We spent most of our time in the main common area sewing -- the view from all rooms is amazingly bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
9.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
809 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
207 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Odawa Hotel
Odawa Hotel
#12 of 15 in Petoskey
230 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
464 reviews
12.6 mi away
Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Address: 6845 S US 31 Hwy, Alanson, MI 49706-9426 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range: $108 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing