We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Zeeland, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here once a long time ago and really appreciated all of the upgrades that have been done. The view from the balcony was absolutely gorgeous. We arrived late so did not have time to take advantage of the boating opportunities on the river, but we did note the outdoor fire going (it was full when we were going to go), and the 24-hour pool. We did use both pool and hot tub and found them both to be clean and well maintained. Beds were nothing out of the ordinary, but we slept well. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast, complete with the make-your-own waffle station. Staff interactions were pleasant. We would definitely stay here again and found rates to be very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabithap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    46
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
113
112
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed in other Stafford properties and were excited to try their newest for our Up North family vacation. The staff was exceptional and the lobby and amenities were nice, but once in our room our experience went downhill.

We booked a one bedroom suite for four nights, and in a suite-based hotel like The Embassy Suites, that is plenty of room. The "bedroom" was barely 10x10 with a king, and a cut out "window" into the sitting room where our kids were camped on the pull-out couch. They got the view; we stayed in a box. The layout was terrible, because we had no real window for natural light, and no real privacy because the wall wasn't solid. To make matters worse, there was a sizable mattress crater that entrapped me in 2 consecutive sleepless nights. I'm willing to say that I should have booked a 2 bedroom suite instead, but a poor mattress is an ultimate no-no, especially for a new hotel. So we cut short our stay by two days and got a room at the Hampton Suites in Petoskey for twice the money instead. It was worth the move.

I still love the Perry Hotel and the Bay View Inn, but the Staffords really need to address the room issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanW0167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerReg, Owner at Crooked River Lodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with the room design and the mattress quality of our hotel. For the followers of Trip advisor I do wish to correct a point of fact in your review. This is not a new hotel but rather recently acquired by our company. We do value the comments and experiences of our guests and will use your feedback to plan future improvements to the products and design of Stafford's Crooked River Lodge. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We found this wonderful spot partly because we waited long enough that many places in the area were booked. But we loved this Staffords place!! True, it has no on-site bar or restaurant, but it is wonderfully serene. Each room has a private balcony with a nice river view (buy your own cocktail mix and you can have a wondrous Happy Hour on your own balcony). Rooms are very large. Staff is terrific, including the delightful Janet who organizes the generous breakfasts and the Friday afternoon "Meet and Greet" with great food and complimentary wine. This place is only a few miles from plenty of places with great food and full bars but if you like a place to stay that is quiet, private, and super friendly and away from the hustle and bustle of Petoskey or Harbor Springs, this is the place!! We will go again in a heartbeat, even if other places are available.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

In Michigan's northwestern lower peninsula, "Stafford" is a well-respected name in the lodging and dining industries. Stafford's Crooked River Lodge on the outskirts of Alanson is the most recent (Decmber 2011) addition to a growing empire. According to lodge staff, the former owners went bankrupt a short time after building it, leaving this complex to the Stafford company.. It has tremendous upside potential under this new ownership/management, but is months, if not years, away from realizing that.

For example, right now the lodge does provide a complimentary breakfast (Think Hampton Inn.). There are, however, no on-site lunch/dinner options. Likewise, one must cart in their own adult beverages since there is no on-site pub

An "up North" decor has been attempted, but since the building is so new it has a rather sterile contrived feel to it. Rooms are very large with each having a private deck. There's a large communal lounge area above the front lobby complete with pool table, Internet station, etc.

The fire pit (gas-fired) on the patio on the backside of the lodge got better looking as darkness fell.

The staff was uniformly helpful and we used the complimentary shuttle bus for transportation from marina to the lodge. The lodge is right on the Crooked River and we were told months earlier they were building a dock where we might be able to tie up. No dice. Perhaps a canoe could, but our '22 boat couldn't. The lodge is on the east side of the Alanson lock and dam while the only "marinia" and decent tie-up spot is on the west side of the lock and dam.

The lodge, its rooms and the public spaces were very clean. Lots of parking for cars, trucks and vehicles pulling trailers.

This is going to be a great place in five or so years when it's fully operational!

Room Tip: No restaurant; No bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jumomof3
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The property manager was terrific and the front desk staff was friendly. The room was clean; the value was excellent! We had a 2-bedroom suite, which really helps when travelling with 3 kids. The only unfortunate thing was the a/c is located in the familyroom area. To get the bedrooms (even with the doors open) cool enough to sleep, the person on the sleeper sofa freezes. In fact one room never got cool enough and we had to play musical beds. Ceiling fans in the bedrooms might at least improve that issue. There is only one bathroom, which is suprising with the spaciousness, but at least the vanities outside of the bathroom help alleviate congestion in the morning. We didn't get a chance to use the kayaks/paddle boat, but hope to on a future stay. Looking forward to see how they develop the shoreline/boathouse area. The firepit, loft areas (with computer/pool table/books/games), and pool with waterfall are refreshing. I do think a separate area for exercise with some new equipment would be a huge improvement. The complimentary breakfast was enjoyable overlooking the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed a night at the crooked river. I am so overwhelmed, I had to give my first review. We spent merely one night on our way from mackinac to traverse city. We took a great kayak ride on the river, took out the peddle boat, went for a run along the old rail line, spent hours in the indoor pool and simply enjoyed this off the beaten path location. Everyone was amazingly helpful, interested but not overbearing. Breakfast gets two thumbs up from our nine year old son and picky eater. The waffle maker was in top order and easy to use. In the evening was Mexican fiesta with nachos, various dips and drinks--complementary. The attention to detail was impressive. Our son played with various games in the loft-game room over the lobby. The fresh popcorn we received while checking in was also a nice touch.
Only negative was one aspect of the room. We had a two bedroom unit. It was in great condition, had a lovely balcony with view on the quiet river, and a separate kitchen and eating area. Unfortunately it was rather dark with grey wall paper and the second bedroom had no window. This is we presume a building thing, but lighter wallpaper would help someday. This is of course minor and doesn't have any influence on our superb evaluation of the lodge. Come and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Crooked River Lodge in July 2012 while visiting family. I had originally wanted to stay in Petoskey but hotel rooms were running $250 a night. I was able to book a one bedroom suite at CRL for $139. It was an easy drive from Petoskey--about 12 miles.

I was really impressed by how spacious the rooms are in the lodge. Each one has a small kitchenette (mini fridge and microwave), a bedroom, a living area, and a huge balcony overlooking the Crooked River. The lodge also has a nice swimming pool, a loft area with a big screen TV and billiards, huge patio, and fire pit.

Every morning they serve breakfast from 7am-10am. They have a variety of cereals and pastries to choose from as well as waffles and a special of the day (e.g., french toast casserole or bagel sandwiches). The woman who runs the breakfast room is super friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
9.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
10.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#7 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Property: Crooked River Lodge
Address: 6845 S US 31 Hwy, Alanson, MI 49706-9426 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing