We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded yet close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crooked River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Secluded yet close to everything”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Crooked River Lodge after visiting Trip Advisor. Our room was a King suite and had 2 t.v.s, micro, and fridge. The room was very clean as was the whole facility. has a river view but no access at the property. My wife and I were able to make side trips each day and found the lodge to be central to Petoskey (10 mile)
Harbor Springs (10 miles) Mackinaw Island (30 miles) Tunnel of trees is worth the drive as it winds through a forest on the coast of Lake Michigan. Sturegon river tubing was great and a very fast moving river. State parks at Burt lake and petoskey have nice beaches worth seeing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    47
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
117
114
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I were taking a trip to Makinaw Island and on the way from Joliet, IL
we traveled along the lake side of Michigan.....We took the trip over 2 days and had no
reservations because we were just enjoying each moment of Michigan. We do travel
to Michigan alot because of family and always find so much beauty everywhere!
Anyway, we were driving and came upon the CROOKED RIVER LODGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I said, "pull in"!! It was the most beautiful lodge ever seen! and.....the personal touches
throughout along with the hospitality of the family business!! EVERYONE WAS SO FRIENDLY! Our suite was beautifully
decorated and large. The views are beautiful too! WE LOVED IT ALL!! WE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mythreesons1654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee County, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel is nice and clean. They do have pets and children that live or stay there. They are all friendly though. The owner is on site. It is great to support a local business owner in this economy. They are always accommodating. It has a great location with awesome restaurants in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Suite. They are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc1harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We came up here for a weekend to buy a car, and stayed at the Crooked River Lodge and loved it! The employees were so nice and willing to help whenever you needed. Any questions we had they were happy to answer. Also, we loved the turtle they had! They had a huge cage for him, and they took great care of him. During the day they took him outside and allowed him to walk around. Many people are saying that the dogs were growling at them and were in the breakfast room, but we did not experience that at all. The dogs were very well behaved and calm. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfortable! We loved the view that we had from the room, and we found it convenient that they had dishes in the room for you to use. Most hotels do not have dishes and when we ordered pizza, we were happy to find dishes. The Wi-Fi worked great and the pool was amazing and clean! We will be staying here in the future! We loved it here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxoitsasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I and my friends rented three rooms for one evening, and we all enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were very large and accomodating, we liked that we had a livingroom, bedroom, and all of the rooms had an outside balcony. The pool is at one end, and the rooms are at the other, affording quiet and privacy. The rustic decorations and the clean, up to date rooms were wonderful. The owners live there with their family, giving it a very warm inviting atmosphere. We enjoyed having our coffee and breakfast (included) on the porch, enjoying the view of the Crooked River. We are planning to return, and would highly recommend this hotel. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: The variety of rooms, and the reasonable prices are worth checking into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylLCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were pretty grossed out by all the animals. The huge turtle stuck in the cage was sad. It smelled bad and they had a garbage can for it to live in. Two dogs were ALWAYS in the lobby, the smallest of which kept growling at us. There was also dog hair all over the chairs in the dining room. Dust bunnies were all over in the rooms and the wall paper was coming off the wall. It was pretty gross. We also had an issue at checkout where the owner changed the price on us and charged us more than what had been sent in the email they sent confirming our reservations. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nogoodname4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We always like to stay here when in the area. The balconies overlook the crooked river. I like the fact that there are rooms only on one side of the hall. There are also only 13 rooms per floor which makes it quiet. Breakfast was O.K.,pretty standard stuff. Pool was fine, also. Price was about right for what you get.

Room Tip: upper floors seem to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougkrausz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alanson
9.7 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
10.8 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Pellston Lodge Magnuson Hotel
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked River Lodge

Property: Crooked River Lodge
Address: 6845 S US 31 Hwy, Alanson, MI 49706-9426 (Formerly Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Alanson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alanson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crooked River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stafford's Crooked River Lodge and Suites is conveniently located on US 31 just 1 mile north of Alanson and 12 miles north of Petoskey. We are also 9 miles south of the Pellston international airport. Now under Stafford's Hospitality management we have deeded access to neaby snowmobile and recreation trails and a beautiful vista of the historic Inland Waterway for every room. Newly renovated indoor pool and common areas with 40 spacious family and group friendly rooms and suites. "Your up North adventure starts here" is our promise of a unique and true experience that travelers have come to expect in this beautiful landscape we call home. Let us share our "home" with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Crooked River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooked River Hotel Alanson
Clarion Alanson
Alanson Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing