We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, and good for the price.”
Review of Hotel Mir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mir
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Kharkiv
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel was convenient to the metro, rooms were clean, and the staff was very helpful and polite. I enjoyed the Ukraine and the Ukrainians and will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajonjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel has a deceivingly ugly exterior appearance; however, it is mostly renovated and quite different inside. The location is very good, next to Metro (subway) station “Botanical Garden”. A 24-hour supermarket is less than 100 meters from the hotel entrance. There is a park with a natural spring across the street. I am not sure if it is the Botanical Garden which gave its name to the subway station, but it is very well maintained and you can drink from numerous taps at the spring (bring your own bottle or glass) or dip into the baths with flowing spring water (there are change rooms to change swimwear). The water is extremely cold, but refreshing in hot days. Everything is free btw!
The room we stayed in was a “Standard” one. The rate might seem a bit high compared with other prices in the city, such as transportation, entertainment, etc., but still very affordable for Western travelers. The room size was adequate for a European hotel, though there is not enough space to store bags if you have several of them. The shower cabin is new and clean, but lacks a soap holder or a small shelf. Free Wi-Fi in the room. Overall cleanness was satisfactory, though bed linen and towels did not feel sparkling fresh. Our room did not have air conditioning, so we had to keep the windows open during hot nights and, therefore, had to bear with the street noise (and it was really noisy outside – traffic, barking dogs, etc.) As far as I know, more expensive “Eurolux” rooms do have air conditioners. Out of curiosity, we checked hallways on several floors and it appears that only floors from the 6th up as well as the reception level had been renovated – probably, they started renovations from the top floors down and haven’t finished all the floors yet. Overall, we had a positive experience and I would recommend this hotel if you travel to Kharkiv.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valeryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our first impression of Kharkiv, coming straight off a flight from the USA, was not that favorable. The roads are bad, there are many dilapidated buildings and (apparently) recently abandoned half-finished high-rise developments, and Hotel Mir, on our first approach to it, seemed to be in an out-of-the-way place overgrown by weeds. But in fact Kharkiv turns out to be a delightful city! The people are friendly, polite and orderly; you can walk around at any time without any sense of concern; the Metro system is fantastic - USD $0.25 for an unlimited ride, the stations have individual architecture, all most aesthetically designed, some rivaling Moscow in their beauty, fast frequent trains, and even at rush hour the many riders were uniformly polite and dignified in our experience. But now to the Mir Hotel. Its location is most convenient - just steps from the Botanical Gardens Metro station. Across the street is a very good 24-hour supermarket. The staff is most polite and helpful - they didn't charge us for a fax that we sent to a hotel in Kiev, there is a full-service travel agency on the premises that was most helpful in getting us train tickets to Kiev, ATM machines, a Western Union money-changing office, very decent restaurant (The Joker). I think most American travelers will appreciate two things that I now mention, which are related. We arrived on a rather hot day in June, after a transatlantic flight, and when we entered our room it was pleasantly cool, the air conditioning having been turned on well beforehand. In this respect, Mir was one of the best hotels in which I have stayed in all of Europe. Second, our floor - and I think this is true throughout - had a 24-hour staff of dedicated female attendants, apparently the same people every day. Whenever we got off the elevator to return to our room, at least one of these ladies would appear in the corridor to see who was approaching. That really establishes a sense of security and comfort. Overall the service was excellent, we had a most comfortable suite with a living room, bedroom and separate bathroom for about USD 100/night, good small refrigerator and flawless free wireless internet access. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 11th floor - most pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I stayed in the standard single room, and honestly I was quite surprised. For a 3 star Ukrainian hotel, which was a Soviet hotel, I was not expecting much (and I thought my fears were confirmed after I saw the daunting block of a building from the outside). But the room I was in was perfectly reasonable, clean, and comfortable (though getting a double bed after 3 weeks in hostels may have made me biased). It was slightly cold though, despite the little heater doing its best.

The staff at the front desk usually speak reasonable English, but depending on the days it can become difficult to communicate. For instance, on New Years Day, I was rather sick (had been for a few weeks), and thought I may need to see a doctor for antibiotics. For the holiday staff, this seemed to mean I needed an ambulance, which arrived and took me to hospital for an antibiotic drip... quite an ordeal. But I can't blame the hotel in a foreign country for not speaking my language.

It's location isn't the best, but the metro station is right outside, and will take you to all the main places of the city. The staff will also happily call a taxi should you need to go anywhere else.

I haven't stayed at any other hotels in Kharkov, but this one is certainly good for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam-another-Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Location:
Not quite in the city center, but is easily accessible via subway or taxi. There are always taxis parked outside and they are reasonably cheap so its easy to get anywhere. It's also located next to the botanic gardens and miniral water spring. Quite a few cafeterias located nearby which makes dining easy and enjoyable.

Service:
Very friendly staff, which is not always the case with Eastern European hotels. I got a little cold and my girlfriends went to get some hot water for me, and the staff in the restaurant provided that straight away, even though it was clearly outside their responsibility. The room was cleaned every day.

Room:
The room was a little small, but new and clean. Those who love more space have an option to get a larger room (I haven't seen it) for a bit more...

Price:
The best is the price, it was something like $35 per night for a very clean and enjoyable hotel.

I recommend this hotel for budget travelers to Kharkiv.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Godsaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2006

I had a great time here, they had laundry service available, as well as a cafe and night club inside the hotel. the rooms where accomodating. it was close to the center of town and the metro was accessable within a minutes walk, as well as taxis available at anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kharkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Umbertoniccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kharkiv hotels
5 mi away
Hotel Baden-Baden
Hotel Baden-Baden
#16 of 41 in Kharkiv
7 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel 12
Hotel 12
#30 of 41 in Kharkiv
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kharkiv
Hotel Kharkiv
#17 of 41 in Kharkiv
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kharkiv Palace Premier Hotel
6.1 mi away
Hotel Complex Mercury
Hotel Complex Mercury
#14 of 41 in Kharkiv
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirax Sapphire Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mir

Address: Lenin Avenue, 27a, Kharkiv 61072, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Kharkiv Oblast > Kharkiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Kharkiv
Price Range: $22 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mir 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Mir" - located on one of the main roads of the city, Lenin Ave, near the metro station "Botanichnyi Sad". Convenient location allows our guests to easily reach any point in the city. In close proximity to the source of Sarzhin Yar and "Kharkiv Disneyland" Gorky Park.Our facility combines a hotel, restaurant, cafe and bars. It offers conference rooms, beauty salon, Russian bath and sauna, travel agency "Mir Service", the box office air and rail tickets, bank, parking.Hotel "Mir" offers our guests single and double Eurorooms, Evroluxs and apartments. Rooms fitted with a direct dial telephone, TV, Wi-Fi. Hotel can accommodate more than 200 people at the same time.The complex is equipped with independent water and heating supply.During Euro 2012 hotel housed members of the headquarters and the UEFA target groups.The team hotel will pick you up European level of service and will do everything possible to make your stay comfortable.Welcome to the hotel complex "Mir"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing