We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never ever again”
Review of Zirka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zirka
Ranked #75 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Kharkiv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Never ever again”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

- extremely small rooms. 2.5x2.5 meters. it is not a room but a suit case !
- bathroom - 1.5x1.5 m. you can sit on toilet, brush your teeth and wash your hair at the same time. to leave the bathroom you need to step back as there is no place to turn there
- hotel itself is a popular bordello: 24x7 couples and men with "girls for one hour" were renting rooms hourly . you never know what std you bring for that hotel :S
- beds are the cheapest you can find. with dangerous mattresses.
- wi-fi only on the first floor at the reception. you need to sit in front of entrance door to use the Internet.
- parking is just the road in front of the hotel.

for 300 uah you can rent a good 1-room flat in the center. we will never make a mistake of staying in that hostel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank _Angel_Anya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    23
    29
    37
See reviews for
14
34
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galati, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

10' away (on foot) from the central/historical part of the town; the amenities are quite basic but for 2/3 nights it's ok if you don't want to spend a lot; rooms are effectively very small (something like 2,2x2,2 m) and the bathroom is even smaller. however, you can have a shower and a good sleep although the walls are very thin so you may hear the neighbors if they are noisy. the parking lot is just in front of the hotel and looks quite safe - we had no problems. the city worth a visit and 2 days are enough!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psilviu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornslet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I stayed 5 days at the Zirka in Odessa during my visit there. The rooms are cheap, but very small. There was a doublebed, a refrigerator and a TV that shows only ukranian channels and Hustler TV. During my stay there was no roomcleaning.

Having sai this, I still think it was great value for money. The bed was good, and I found comfortable in my room when I was there. If you go somewhere to stay in your room 24/7 this is not the hotel for you, but if you want basic accomodation, it will do the job.

Service at the front desc was excellent, and they all speak English. There are almost always a taxi to be found just outside the hotel, wich is good as the walk in to the centre of town is quite long. Shopping and restaurants are to be found nearby.

Internet in the hotel is only in the reception area, and my computer was not able to find the wifi there. In the reception area there is a computer you can use, with internetconnection, however it is not connected to a printer. Ask the staff for help, and they will do what the can for you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scheller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We found Hotel Zirka (Odessa) to not fully meet our expectations. True, their prices are competitive, but the double-room booked as a "premium" should have been more of a suite, with a sitting opportunity, rather than containing only a double and two single beds, and not one chair at all.
Location is good for walking to the city centre, with trams going through the next street, if you feel inclined to not walk a few hundred meters.
For another trip to Odessa I would shop around for a hotel possibly a bit more expensive, with a higher standard.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank amho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Walking in the central Odessa wanting to stay for the night this hotel is absolutly fine for the purpose. Budget class and compared to prices absolutly value for the money. Smiling reception and parking on the street just outside was no problem

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H1drik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau
Level Contributor
81 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Zirka is an inexpensive hotel...you're not going to find the amenities of a 5 star. For what it is, it is a very good deal. Most everything a tourist wants to see in Odessa is within a acceptable walking distance. It's in a decent area and clean enough. The lobby is small, and the floor plan is somewhat like a labyrinth.


Our room was satisfactory for sleeping but most would find it small to sit around in. Our only complaint was the bathroom....small doesn't describe it - less than 1.5 square meter.. You needed to turn sidewalks and partially step over the toilet to get to the shower, which wasn't big enough for us, two skinny people.

In the past we've stayed in rented rooms in private homes and this was our only experience with a hotel in Odessa. It's a good two star place and we will stay there again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EatPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

ok I will now blurt out what noone wants me to. If you write good things about a place the prices go up and you can't book a room for love nor money right? I think the small details count - the reception were gorgeous, there was every attempt made to explain everything in more than one language, the cleaning staff were authentic, fellow guests were considerate and fraternal nd there was almost no distance to everything we wanted to see

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xannkadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tsentralnaya
Tsentralnaya
#68 of 81 in Odessa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Black Sea Risheliyevskaya
3.3 mi away
Odessa Hotel Complex
Odessa Hotel Complex
#36 of 81 in Odessa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Black Sea Panteleymonovskaya
0.7 mi away
Klumba
Klumba
#52 of 81 in Odessa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shellman
Shellman
#71 of 81 in Odessa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zirka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zirka

Property: Zirka
Address: Uspenska vul. 70, Odessa 65045, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zirka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel in Odessa city center. All rooms with bathroom, satellite TV, fridge, and air conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zirka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zirka Star Hotel
Zirka Star Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing