We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charme”
Review of Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

So first the hotel lives by its reputation, may be 10 years a go it was the best place in Odessa, but no the rooms are a little bit old, without any charm. Yes it is a solid hotel but nothing more. I think there are better and cheaper places to stay in Odessa. One major plus point is that the hotel is very close to the main shopping, eating what ever street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulzingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 211 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

I spent 4 days in this hotel in November 2011.
Position: central
Exterior: looks like a normal building, not a hotel.
Reception: Very kind/fast. Not very imposing but clean and neat.
Cost/Value: good if you stay in one of their apartments (80$/night), average if you stay in a room 120 - 160$/night.
Breakfast: excellent and included in the room rate! Lots of choice, and chef is very willing to prepare anything you ask for.
Dinner/lunch: average (but I'm very picky bcs I'm Italian... so you might give it a little bit more credit).
Room: very clean.
Service: Excellent, friendly and they really try to help.
Free Internet, reasonably fast.
Ask for one of their apartments - they cost half the price of a room but they are actually much larger than any room. Apartments also have a small kitchen and are cleaned every day, just like the normal rooms. Also room service is available, and you have your very private entrance! Basically you get a suite size room for half the price of a normal room.
They take all credit cards (rare in Ukraine) and have a well serviced, free, business centre.
oh... I almost forgot... all the staff ladies are gorgeous!
;-)
If I return to Odessa, I will stay again! Very good value and super friendly staff! The best choice in Odessa.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment number 1. It's in the internal courtyard: you get twice the space for half the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommaso_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was my first time in Ukraine and I felt I needed the safety of the hotel as I did not know what to expect. This hotel is very clean, the bathrooms were spotless and all the common areas were as well. The service staff knew English, some were better than others, and I felt only once that I was misunderstood to the point that I missed a walking tour because I thought I understood where the tour was to meet, and then to my surprise no one showed up at the appointed time of the tour. But as everyone says there "What do you expect, it is Ukraine?" The wifi was ok and I never lost a connection in the 8 days I was there. I had to use the 2nd floor one though as my signal was better with that than the 4th floor which was were my room was. If you call ahead and request a taxi they will meet you at the airport which is very important if you are on your own. I walked out from customs and there was the driver with a sign with my name and off we went. The bill is added your room. Overall, I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

the hotel is slightly pricey, but the location is great (on the main street, which is mostly pedestrian), the lobby nice, the reception and restaurant staff always nice, rooms very comfy and clean, bad wifi but a 24-hr business centre free of charge. All in all I really like this hotel and warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The accomodations were excellent, as were the food and service. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every way. First hotel I've ever stayed in where when I returned in the evening the bed had been turned down while I was out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UncleDave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed there for a weekend in January. Had a nice room overlooking the (calm) street. Located in the old city centre, close enough to bars and restaurants. Staff is friendly, wireless works, room service is good. Not very suitable for non-business related travel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Continental Business Hotel in Odessa is the place. I stayed two nights in this full service hotel in the heart of downtown Odessa (Odesa) on quiet street and within easy walking distance of the Opera House and Potemkin Steps. It is a very clean comfortable place with friendly staff who speak English. Breakfast and Wi-Fi are included. The breakfast is extra special as you have a choice of continental or a full breakfast along with the famous Odessa Champagne. They also have a sauna but I never used it. I booked the hotel via e-mail with the DEMCHISHINA-TUR travel company - www.WelcomeToOdessa.net

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
1.1 mi away
Resort & SPA Hotel NEMO with dolphins
0.5 mi away
Premier Geneva Hotel
Premier Geneva Hotel
#1 of 87 in Odessa
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol Odessa
Hotel Bristol Odessa
#4 of 87 in Odessa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aleksandrovskiy
Aleksandrovskiy
#2 of 87 in Odessa
348 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#49 of 87 in Odessa
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Londonskaya
Londonskaya
#15 of 87 in Odessa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental

Address: Deribasovskaya St., 5G, Odessa 65026, Ukraine
Phone Number:
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Odessa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Odessa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Odessa
Price Range: $51 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5-minute walk from the Potemkin Stairs and the Odessa Opera House, this 4-star hotel features a spa area, a restaurant and elegant rooms with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The Continental's Voyage restaurant serves Italian and Ukrainian cuisine. A buffet breakfast is provided each morning.The rooms at the Continental Business Hotel feature a minibar, radio and beds with an orthopaedic mattress.A hot tub, Finnish sauna and relaxation lounge can be found in the Continental Business' spa area. Massages and beauty treatments can be booked here.Vorontsov's Palace and the Odessa Harbour are just a 10-minute walk from the Continental Hotel. Odessa Central Airport is a 15-minute drive away, and Odessa-Glavnaya Train Station is 2 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Odessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing