We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Odessa Walks tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Odessa Walks
from $48.00
More Info
from $54.00
More Info
from $35.00
More Info
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
198
4
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
198
4
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour jewish heritage wonderful guide tour guide beautiful city opera house excellent tour better understanding great knowledge city walk half tour short notice highly recommend this tour detailed information spoke perfect english full day tour interesting facts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 204 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Odessa for a day during our Black Sea cruise, and wanted a private or small group tour that would focus on Jewish Heritage in Odessa. I contacted Olga by email about two months before our trip -- she forwarded me several tour and pricing options for the day, and we exchanged emails a number of times during the planning period leading up to our cruise. She was always very responsive and her written (and verbal) command of English was excellent.

It turned out no others from our ship wanted to join, but the price was still very reasonable for just the two of us, and the tour Olga gave us was outstanding, covering general historical sites of Odessa as well as many of the Jewish heritage sites . Although not of Jewish descent herself, Olga's knowledge of Jewish history in Odessa was amazing, and I actually wish I'd had a tape recorder to capture some of the detailed information she shared with us about Jewish history and the development of Zionistic movements in and around Odessa. Most of our tour was designed to be a walking tour, with a car and driver available to get us to a few locations further away from the city center, but when the light rain showers turned steady and cold, Olga arranged to continue using the car to keep us warm and dry in between site stops. The only thing keeping this from being a perfect day was the weather -- we couldn't have asked for a better guide!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank wocruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We visited the Odessa catacombs with Olga of Odessa Walks. We were on a Celebrity cruise and I can't imagine doing the tour with a large group from a ship in that confined a space. We were a group of only 6 people. Olga is very knowledgeable about WWII events in this area and she made it come alive for us. She also provided quite a bit of information on Ukraine. She also showed us some sights in Odessa that we had missed on our own walking tour.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank travelex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Olga organized an extra group tour because her first one was full. Eight of us from the Celebrity ship met our guide, Julia, at the dock. We started by walking the famous steps and getting a history of the port. Pastries and coffee followed, then we walked the through more of the city to Hotel Sophie's café for appetizers, continuing past a Tolstoy home, the opera house, Catherine the Great's statue and ended with dumplings. Julia really gave us great stories about the layers of history of the city. Great way to explore the city with interesting Ukrainian eats along the way.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank fotokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We used Olga in mid October for our two days in the port of Odessa. On the first day we did the food walking tour, on the second the underground Odessa. We travel regularly. Olga would be the most professional and efficient guide and service we have ever experienced. We had tickets to the ballet on the night. Even though we had not bought those tickets through Olga she found we had the tickets so co ordinated our travel to and fro with people who had booked through her. Just one amazing woman. I expect her business will go far. Thank you Olga

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

In September 2013 we were on a 2 week cruise, and of all our tours, this one was by far the best. Our guide, Julie, was excellent. Her English was very clear and understandable. Her knowledge of Odessa had depth and comprehension. She told us many great tales of the city's history and we left feeling we really had learned a great deal. She was fun, informative and overall a wonderful tour guide. We highly recommend this tour company. You will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank mumzie1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews