We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Odesa.”
Review of Grand Marine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Marine
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Luxury in Odesa.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My trip to the Grand Marine came about as an accident. My wallet was lost while traveling in Europe, Russia and Ukraine for 3 months by motorcycle. As such, I needed to find a good place to stay while I waited for a new credit card. It is a very nice place to enjoy a vacation.

The hotel is a little distant from the center of Odesa, but this makes the resort a retreat away from the bustle of the city. The hotel is within walking distance of Black Sea beaches and the hotel has a fantastic indoor swimming pool.

Staying at the hotel includes breakfast. Make sure that you get to the breakfast! The food is excellent and you can select whatever you like from the buffet. However, for lunch and dinner the hotel is somewhat remote and that limits where you can eat. The hotel restaurant offers good food and service, but it is pricey.

The staff at the hotel was among the best that I encountered on my trip. The front desk staff speaks English and are very helpful. My situation was a little difficult with my lost wallet and they were extremely helpful by making phone calls for me and showing me Ukrainian hospitality. One of the receptionists, Oksana helped me with an issue getting wifi, with my room selection and with finding my way around the town. The staff helped me find restaurants, the bus and tram service and when I asked where I might find a good church, they had an excellent recommendation. The manager was a great help with the situation regarding my wallet and billing.

The grounds were exceptionally clean and safe. One issue to consider is the wifi. In most rooms, the wifi is only available right at the door. The hotel really needs to address the problem with wifi, but most people are visiting here to enjoy the spa, massages and pool rather than playing on their computer.

When in Odesa, this is the place to stay. You will enjoy the food, the beauty of the grounds, the nearby Black Sea, the pool and the staff.

Room Tip: The fourth floor room next to the elevator has some of the best wifi service in the hotel. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandr K, Директор по продажам at Grand Marine, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks for your detailed review. It is useful not only for our future guests, but also for us. We have transformed a little WiFi network. Also reduced the prices of a number of dishes. If you'll ever have to travel to Ukraine, we hope that you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    16
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
12
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Those who happened to travel around Ukraine and Russia will agree that the quality of hospitality services can be challenging in this part of the world.....

But this property provides unusually amazing quality of the service and services. Everything seems to be well - elaborated. Friendly, efficient and well trained stuff.

Highly recommend and definitely will come back

Room Tip: I'd say that if you are looking for a peace and calmness, with plenty of sun during the day, any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler06-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandr K, Директор по продажам at Grand Marine, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We highly appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Territory is very beautiful and well-groomed.
Room is clean and comfortable.
Personnel is helpful. Hotel has very nice winter garden, summer and winter pools with mineral water.

Restaurant is average but prices are too high.
So you need a car for save money, because where are not a supermarket and restaurants in this aria.
Free valet parking.

Beach:
Uncomfortable way - downstairs is long.
Broken lounge.
Dirty - a lot of litter on the sand.

Summary:
Good place for rest if you have a car and don't want spend a time on a beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex_tu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandr K, Директор по продажам at Grand Marine, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have reduced the price of the dishes. Also there are some restaurants close to the hotel, so you have a choiсe. As for the road to the sea, now we have every hour bus to deliver you to the beach and back. Glad to improve our service for your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
6.0 mi away
Maristella Marine Residence
10.1 mi away
Resort & SPA Hotel NEMO with dolphins
6.0 mi away
Villa Le Premier
Villa Le Premier
#58 of 81 in Odessa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Panorama De Luxe
Panorama De Luxe
#15 of 81 in Odessa
57 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Gioconda Boutique Hotel
7.7 mi away
KADORR Hotel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Marine

Property: Grand Marine
Address: Yuzhnosanatorny Lane, 5, Odessa 65037, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing