We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Odessa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Veranda Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

La Veranda Restaurant & Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Odessa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit this restaurant onseveral occasions through the years and it consistently has great food. Although the service is a little slow (only by western standards) the food is great, the foie gras always done perfectly and the wine list more than satisfactory. The pasta is made on site and the dining experience has not failed me yet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 11Paul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    11
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not trust other reviewers!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012


I don't understand what the other reviewers are saying. The service is kind but awfully slow. Half of the dishes on the menu were not possible to choose.

We ordered vegetable lasagne as a starter and got grilled vegetables. As explained by the waitress (poor English), they are the same except for the melted cheese on top.... Did we say this is partly an Italian restaurant? An hour after ordering, they explained that the catfish we just ordered wasn't possible to choose either. What a surprise. And no vegetarian alternatives.

(now pause, the main dishes just arrived after 1h 10m...)

Food is nice, but...this time one of us received the starter as a main dish. Half way though my French fish soup it tastes like mould...

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaLaSuedoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
293 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“Handy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was right next door to our hotel. The food was nothing special & the service left something to be desired. But it served its purpose.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect & consistent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

2010-2011-2012 every time visited during may-sept so never sat inside. Very friendly service, delicious food & moderate prices. If I had this rest back at home would visit at least every 2nd/3rd week.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slick_whale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the best french-italian cuisine in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

visit to enjoy high quality service, perfect food and nice music. they say, the only restaurant in Ukraine with Michelin's star in Chiefs hands)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Odessa, Odessa Oblast
Odessa, Odessa Oblast
 
Odessa, Odessa Oblast
 
Odessa, Odessa Oblast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing