We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible. Overpriced and not as advertised.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Residence Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stella Residence Club
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Terrible. Overpriced and not as advertised.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have stayed 2 nights at this "5-star hotel" - it hardly deserves to be a 3-star. Let me describe all pros and cons, but if you want it in some words - avoid it if you can. It is not worth the money you pay.

Pros:
- Pool. We haven't used it because it was quite crowded. But I can see it as the only reason you can select this hotel for a stay.

Cons:
- Location. Even if it's near the sea - it's very far from city center. More than that - it's not easy to find as it is not shown on the map. There is no sign on the road, absolutely nothing, and the map at booking site leads you to wrong direction. We spent a while trying to locate it.
- Service. It's a common problem in Ukraine, but I expected much better service from a 5-star hotel. Girls at the reception couldn't find our booking (there are not so many rooms in the hotel they couldn't arrange a single reservation), guys at the hotel parking didn't remember our car and didn't provide any help
- Interior design. This might be my personal opinion, but hotel is absolutely tasteless. They're trying to show you it's expensive, but cheap materials and overall condition is poor.
- Room condition. When we came, it was completely smoked out. When we asked for another room, all they did was to open the window and turned on the fan. We have entered the room at 16-00, so they had enough time to make the room clean. All furniture is used and requires renovation.
- Bathroom condition. I stayed at many hotels around the world, but I have never seen a "noname" bathroom mixer. Usually it's Grohe or Hansgrohe, but it was cheap mixer, very old and dirty. The same thing is about all the stuff in the bathroom. Add terrible smell of mold and you will imagine a 5-star hotel...
- Prices in the mini-bar. They're twice higher than in any expensive bar in Odessa. They don't even offer a bottle of complimentary water
- No view from the balcony (business standard room). And we could not close the door to the balcony - we were happy it was not so cold outside.

Breakfast was just ok, but not worth overall room price. They offer some additional dishes for extra payment (like vegetable mix) - it's absolutely terrible practice for a hotel that charges more than $200 per night.

Maybe 10 years ago, when everything was new and they were working for a name - it was a good hotel. Now you're paying for old furniture in a tasteless builing with poor service. You can stay at many great Odessa hotels at this price - don't repeat my mistake. Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Business standard is terrible. I think other rooms are too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lempert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
20
23
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,056 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,530 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel with 'modern look', lounge style... there's no other choice than Maristella Club.

If you're looking for a hotel with huge SPA/pool/fitness area... there's no other choice than Maristella Club.

I stayed at many other Odessa hotels - such as Frederic Koklen, Otrada, Bristol, Continental etc. and they're all 'old school', with antique looking furniture, stiff.

At Maristella Club I'm normally taking a Junior Suite which offers room and taste. The room rate includes breakfast which you can enjoy at the restaurant, at the terrace or in the room (no surcharge). The selection is fantastic and you can order as much as you like: Kasha, Omelet with spinach, tomatoes and cheese, fried sausages etc, - plus fantastic coffee.

Especially in winter months Maristella is a superb choice since you can relax at the very nice and huge pool, have a SPA treatment.

Yes, Maristella Club isn't centrally located - but taxi in Odessa is very cheap. We paid between EUR 3 and 4 for the 10 - 15 minutes ride to the center, EUR 2 to restaurant ROKKA.

A big minus is the wall-mounted hair dryer. But if you ask reception they bring you a real one.

Odessa in winter? Fantastic, especially when you stay at Maristella Club.

P.S.: I had a pre-paid rate which doesn't allow change of date. But since I had to chance my travel dates I called and without any problem they allowed to switch dates.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

During winter/spring/fall... Odessa is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the city. Maristella is a great place for a quiet week end even if it's outside the center. Rooms are amazingly huge and with great amenities. Spa is great even if the swimming pool is open to non-resident... wich can make the place very crowdy. The only problem in this hotel during winter are restaurant and bar... small and not friendly at all. Food is also average. Suite are great and really bigs.

Room Tip: Seaviews rooms are the only choice... the view from others is a pity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbles_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin H, General Manager at Stella Residence Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Bubbles_please,
Thank you very much for your visit to Maristella club and for your
review. This winter we are glad to offer a new seasonal menu for our
Guest. You may choose the best dishes of the Odessa and European cuisine. New Japaneese menu offers more than 20 rolls.

Looking forward to welcome you in Maristella Club!

Kind Regards,
Konstantin
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed one night here, on business. The reception desk staff were helpful, and the sultry offer of a spa or massage on arrival intriguing, but after being ripped off by the 'taxi' from the airport I declined their favours.
The elevators are typically over decorated, but very slow.
My room, 304, on the fourth floor, was an adequate size. The bed was about six inches high, and a wall of mirrored closet doors seemed to make the room more brothel like!
A safe, stocked mini bar etc. were present but no writing paper, or area to sit at a desk. Free wifi was available, as was TV. The phone worked, but remember the nonstandard ring tones etc.
The bathroom was large with a heated floor. A full four piece included a bidet. The shower was a 'rainshower' and very refreshing. The bathroom would have been better without the hordes of ants nesting in the wall/floor opposite the toilet.
The hotel has a pool, and a restaurant. The pool was popular. The restaurant cme well recommended and was excellent but overpriced.
The porter/waiter I met offered to change US$ for me. His rate was a little high, but not excessive.
I would stay here again, but only on business.

Room Tip: 304 has a fine view of a lot of construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin H, General Manager at Stella Residence Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Steve and Christine,

Thank you for your full and detail review! I am sure it will be helpfully
for our further Guests. Its was usefully for us to improve our service
and quality as well.

Hope to see you again in Odessa!


Kind Regards,
Konstantin
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Maristella proved to be exactly what I was looking for when I sought out a beach vacation in the Ukraine: top quality resort/hotel with all the amenities. They are directly in front of a beautiful stretch of clean, full service beach and just a short drive from Arcadia (6 euro taxi, 5 min) for the Beach Clubs in the evening and a bit more from Odessa (18 euro, 15 min) for the restos.

The hotel itself has immaculate rooms - top quality beds, showers and amenities.

The spa at the hotel has a world class gym and pool plus a fantastic masseuses and friendly staff.

Overall, the rest of the hotel staff was very friendly and responsive, while only a few of the wait staff struggled with English.

Top Marks Maristella - thank you for a wonderful weeklong stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin H, General Manager at Stella Residence Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear TravelingMat007,

Thank you very much for your choise and a review!
Our team will be happy to welcome you this year in Odessa!


Kind Regards,
Konstantin
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I would not recommend to book this hotel (marked as 5*) in high season. You could happen in the situation, when they will be oberbooked and will not provide you with the accomodation. We had this story on the 12th of June: with 100% prepaid room, the hotel didn't provide us with the accomodation in time (after 2 pm), and didn't even propose the alternative room... So, we had to wait for 1 hour (till 3 pm) and no room was availbale.
As a result we have moved to another hotel, and our vacation was spoiled. The management of the hotel didn't even consider my pregnancy (6m) and didn't provide with the propper service. No appologize and no sorries....
Dear hotel owners: it is not 5* hotel, sorry...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nkaznacheyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantin H, General Manager at Stella Residence Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Nadezhda,

I am sorry so much about your disappointment caused with overbooking
in Maristella club. In case of overbooking we provide for our guest
a higher category room free of charge. If the hotel is full we always
find some alternative hotels nearby and provide a free
transportation. The last options were offered for you that time.

I would like to apologize once again for this inconvenience and wish
a good health for you newborn child!


Kind Regards,
Konstantin
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

I was planning to go to this hotel end of April-beginning of May 2011, booked a standart room, then due to unforseen reasons had to cancell my booking. According to their cancellation policy, it is possible to cancel your booking 72 hours prior to your date of arrival. Which I exactly did. To my big surprise the manager of the hotel said that they already withdrew the money from the credit card (600 Euro per 3 days !!!) and it is impossible to return them!! I couldn't beleive my ears, and this is happening in a five-star hotel as they claim themselves! The only possible variant which the manager offered is to put this money on a deposit, meaning that I would be able to come to a hotel any time during the year using this money. Yeah, thanks a lot! I sent an e-mail to the manager - never received a reply. I had to call my bank and ask them to cancel this transaction in order to get my money back! A very disapointing experience, and for sure no second chance to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marcholya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Odessa hotels
1.8 mi away
KADORR Hotel Resort and Spa
3.9 mi away
Panorama De Luxe
Panorama De Luxe
#18 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maristella Marine Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
M1 Club Hotel
M1 Club Hotel
#15 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Marine
Grand Marine
#21 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Otrada
Hotel Otrada
#27 of 78 in Odessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Residence Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Residence Club

Property: Stella Residence Club
Address: Vanny Lane, 3_, Odessa 65000, Ukraine (Formerly Maristella Club)
Location: Ukraine > Odessa Oblast > Odessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Odessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Residence Club 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Residence Club is the luxury hotel in the touristic district of famous Odessa. It is located right near the coast of Black sea. Our guests have an opportunity to admire marvelous Odessa dawns and sunsets from the spa-complex windows and their private suits. In the same time they can merge into the atmosphere of ideal comfort and silence of luxury hotel. One more advantage is location. Our guests feel relaxing loneliness of the sea vicinity and can drop to the city centre and amusement centre in some minutes. Does it a real perfection of rest? Stella Residence SPA Hotel is created for relaxation! In our rooms you have everything for comfort in your disposal. There are 15 suits fully equipped with all you need. We have a careful attention to the details to prove our «Lux» level. In your disposal there are flat screen TV, heated floor, free Wi-Fi access, city phone in the room, mini-bar, mini-safe, hair drier, bathrobe, bath cosmetics and towels. Our guests can visit aqua-zone with pool, sauna and Turkish hamam absolutely free of charge. Gym facing the sea and fitness programs are also in there availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Stella Residence Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing