We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Posada Don Valentino
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We had a mission trip with 19 people and we felt right at home at Posada Don Valentino! I have been to Guatemala 25 times but this was my first hotel experience in Antigua. The staff, particularly Mary, were very helpful. They helped us arrange tours and transportation including a shuttle to the airport for our group. They had a great spread for our breakfast that was only $5/each. The rooms were beautiful and what you would expect in Guatemala.

The location is near perfect. One block form the market. A short walk to the Central Square. There is a grocery store right next door for anything you need. We took the mini taxis anywhere we wanted for 20Qs which is like $2.50.

The only problem I had was with the shower heat. And I was told that if you don't turn the water on full blast it heats better.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Trent_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 176 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

We spent 5 nights with 3 young children. Had a room on the 3rd floor - much quieter. Delicious breakfasts enjoyed on terraces, Nice to have use of full kitchen for meals. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Internet Cafe on site for small fee. Perfect view of Volcano Pacaya. Can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lilian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I reserved this hotel for one night through Expedia because the wonderful Hotel Aurora (where I am now) was fully booked. I was charged $75 dollars for a room that wouldn't be worth that in the USA. The room smelled of moth balls, was gloomy, towels were threadbare, no shampoo, and lots of noise from adjoining rooms. Halls were dark and it was hard to find the keyhole. The night clerk was an android. What's worse, they charge a 10% surcharge for credit cards (there was some mention of an unspecified surcharge). I understand 4% or 5% to cover costs, but 10% is usury. Avoid this hotel at all costs. It was the worst hotel I've stayed in years.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooklyn_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Dingy, depressing, gloomy, no hot water, had to listen to the TV shows and all the "bathroom noises" of the neighbors. Be forewarned, the photos you see on the website are not representative of all of the rooms. I was supposedly in a "suite", which was no more than a very dark, large, high-ceilinged (with one dangly lightbulb) room with no natural light. Sure, the bathroom was recently updated, but the shower had no water pressure and no hot water, just barely lukewarm. There was a window, in the "suite" but only the upper part of the window would open, therefore it provided very little in the way of fresh air. It had a transparent curtain on it. Right outside of that window was the neighbor's window, so that the neighbors could look in on one of the beds in the room. So, we had to put a blanket over that window, which was okay because there was no view except for the neighbors window, and by covering that window, we eliminated any natural light, or ventilation for the purpose of privacy.

I was told the suites in this hotel were among the best in all of the hotels managed by this owner/management company. Since I stayed in another of their properties earlier on this trip, I don't agree with that statement.

The location was convenient, but there are plenty of other conveniently located places to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojournerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I would recommend the Posada without reservation. The people were super kind and helpful. The location was convenient and the accomodations clean and more than adequate for the price. I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jerrystacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great location. Very friendly staff. I had to cancel my reservation for the last night on short notice. Hotel management did not charge me after I explained that I had been invited to spend my last night in the country with a friend in Guatemala City. The staff always went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at this hotel in July of 2009 on a family vacation. The location was excellent (close to all the main attractions), and the hotel staff went above-and-beyond the call to help us prepare a birthday party for my sister in the hotel's patio area. The hotel itself was very well-kept, featuring lovely rooms with high ceilings ans all the basic comforts. It also had an amazing patio area. I couldn't have expected more, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Antigua.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _Gregorino_77_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#48 of 75 in Antigua
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#46 of 75 in Antigua
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#24 of 75 in Antigua
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#44 of 75 in Antigua
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#41 of 75 in Antigua
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Don Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Valentino

Address: 5th Calle Poniente # 28, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $37 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Don Valentino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful mid-range hotel in the heart, of the majestic colonial city of Antigua Guatemala. We offer everything you could need during your stay in Antigua. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and get the most out of your visit to our beautiful city. Our hotel is in the perfect spot, only 2 blocks to our beautiful central park, only 2 blocks to our tourist market, close to lots of restaurants and other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada Don Valentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Don Valentino Antigua Guatemala
Posada Don Valentino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing