We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Booking.com
$46
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$24
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
56
64
33
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
64
33
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews few blocks market bodegona parque upstairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 189 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2015

The location was perfect, right around the corner from the market and grocery store. The employees were great and courteous. The rooms were ok, nothing grand or special, typical Guatemalan hotels. Old looking inside etc...The rooms were hot though. I had to ask for a second fan because it felt like a sauna inside, while the temperature was cool outside. The WIFI was great on the 1st floor, not so great on the 3rd deck patio. It is cheap, but they charge by the day on WIFI. A disappointment for the cost of the hotel, it should be included. The lowere level has a dining/living room area with a fountain that is nice to chill. The patio is nice as well with great views and lots of seating.

Room tip: Get the first floor, upper floors have narrow staircases and a pain to take luggage up.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank devildog0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Posada Don Valentino, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

We appreciate the comments. This hotel is a budget hotel ($35 to $55) that offers clean rooms, hot showers and a helpful staff, but we are not the Mariott. So, with this budget price, we feel that our hotel is a very good value for guest that are looking to save some on the room to spend more on their adventure or gifts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

We enjoyed our time here and the place was very clean with good sized rooms. There is a nice roof terrace where you can sit and enjoy the views. There's a kitchen you can use if you want. Some people in reviews complained about it being noisy, this was not an issue for us.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank frydayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015

We were happy to find a pet-friendly hotel a few blocks from the main plaza so we were able to visit a lot of Antigua landmarks with our small dog. Rooms are spacious and clean. Other than that, this hotel was overpriced and noisy. Also, there's no free internet because wi-fi signal within reach belongs to an internet cafe within the hotel itself but -tricky enough- it's run by some else (or so they say). No overnight parking near the place either.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoloalSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Manager at Posada Don Valentino, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Hi, thank you for your comment even if it is not as true as it seems. We appreciate your comment about the cleanliness of our rooms and the space available but we don't appreciate the assumption you make about our hotel trying to trick people into paying for Wi-Fi since the internet cafe is a totally different business from our hotel and by we do have Wi-Fi but in the living room and the rooms close by.
We can't do anything if you paid for Wi-Fi since in the property contract it says we may not interfere with the owners internet business. About the prices I can't comment about them since they have changed throughout time.
We would genuinely like to apologize if the hotel did not seem as good to you. We hope you may someday visit us so you see the changes we have made since you last stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2015 via mobile

This posada is an ok place to stay for one night, just don't expect to sleep much. You can here everything that happenens in other rooms. Some rooms do not have any windows. Beds don't smell like if sheets have been washed properly. Internet is not included in the tariff and the staff is quite impersonal and distant. There are better and cheaper places to stay in Antigua, just saying...

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Enrica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Manager at Posada Don Valentino, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

Hi Enrica Cocianni, we wanted to apologize if you did not feel at home in our hotel and that you felt that our staff was distant. We would also like to let you know if you did not like the room (since it was a large room) we would have changed you to a smaller one for your comfort. The Wi-Fi is charged by a third person and not the hotel, we do offer Wi-Fi but only in the living room and the rooms close to it and we do not charge for it but we do ask people to be discrete about it since we are not allowed to provide our guests with Wi-Fi.
We hope you can visit us in the future for an unforgettable experience of our hotel and for you to enjoy it as it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Stayed here twice in the last two weeks:

Positives - free near the main square, market and loads of other attractions. Has a supermarket two door down and a small kitchen where you can cook and store food. Has a lovely roof top terrace with great views. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious.

Negatives - there is no free wifi! This was a real sticking point for me, as the hotel advertises free wifi, yet you have to pay Q20 every 24 hours for the wifi code, which they will type into your device so you can't share it with others. They also turned off the internet each night at 8pm and it didn't come back on again until 8am. This was very disappointing as we needed the internet to help plan our trip and activities. Also, like most people said, choose your room carefully. Room 101 and 102 are right next to reception and are noisy! As the room numbers go up, the further you are from reception. Request a room on the second floor if you can (third floor are large family rooms).

Based on the lack of wifi and false advertising about the wifi I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Manager at Posada Don Valentino, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2015

Hi Nat, thank you for your sincere review, sorry if the Wi-Fi being charged for disappointed you and made your stay not as pleasant as you would have liked. We would like to explain why its charged ( the Wi-Fi), first of all it's charged because it's not our Wi-Fi and we don't and cannot control how the owner pleases to distribute it or how much he wants to charge for it, we have tried endlessly to buy the permissions to use it from the person but she has refused to sell it. Second, we do have Wi-Fi but you are only able to use it in the living room on the first floor but with caution since in the agreement or contract we state that we will not get in the way of the lady's business and can get in a lot of trouble if she finds out that we offer the service free of charge.
We apologize if no one told you about this and we hope you can understand our situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews