We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meson de Maria
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Excellent service, beautiful views, clean and nicely decorated rooms, delicious breakfast, central location, safe for single women travelers!! Loved my stay and the warm staff. They made me feel at home and provided me with an array of things to do in Antigua.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    80
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
133
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Just round the corner from the Arco and 5mins walk from the central plaza, a roof terrace let's you watch the fuego volcano spout ash. Great breakfasts served by lovely staff, large comfortable rooms. Definitely a good choice if you wish to roam lovely Antigua

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very cool hotel...really nice decor, great people and excellent service. The architecture is beautiful, so much so that we believed we were in a very old hotel. Turns out the building is original but the hotel was completely renovated on the inside only about 8 years ago. We would have been more forgiving of the lack of wall insulation if it was original construction, but the fact that it had been recently remodeled made us wonder what they were thinking when they put up the walls. We could hear every word of every conversation from the older couple next door as though they were in our room. And we could hear them express their unhappiness about every sound that came from our room as well, including my husband's snoring and my daughter's talking in her sleep. Sadly, we could never recommend this otherwise lovely hotel because of this. Had a similar problem in another colonial hotel near Guatemalan City so it may be common here, but definitely doesn't work for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 6 nights at Meson de Maria.We loved everything about it :

- the building itself : this is a beautiful building, charmingly decorated, with a cosy feel to it, a very enjoyable inside patio and and incredible and breathtaking rooftop. The rooms are very nice, with a spacious bathroom and a confortable bed.

- the staff : everyone working in the hotel is so friendly and helpful ; they really made us feel at home every time we would step inside the hotel

- breakfast on the inside patio on week ends : we loved the quality of the food for breakfast, whether it was the traditional Guatemalan breakfast or the pancakes . Fresh fruits and juices are delicious and available along with coffee and tea. My favorite thing was to have breakfast in the inside patio on week ends.

- the location : the hotel could not be better located ! You are in the heart of Antigua.

- a family business : the family who owns the hotel is from Antigua and also owns 4 restaurants in the city including la Fonda de la calle real and Troccoli. The food in these restaurants is the best that we had in Guatemala. Truly delicious !!

We would go back to this hotel in a heart beat.
We are thankful to the staff and the owners for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurelie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was a real surprise how good this place was, nice rooms, although a little small, bathrooms ok and nice beds and linen.
The layout gives you nooks and crannies and a feeling of the only guests, outside most rooms are tables and chairs to look over a lovely courtyard of which there are several.
A roof terrace, drinks service and very nice breakfast.
All in all we loved this Hotel and would certainly return, the upstairs rooms are best.
The waiter at breakfast is the 'man who does everything' was especially friendly and a lovely man even fetching us a drink from over the road! (They had no wine left)!!!!
Turn left for the Main Street, turn right for the market and bus station. ( don't miss the market)

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family and I live in Antigua. We recently stayed at Meson de Maria because we had a problem with the roof of our house.

There are many gems throughout Antigua, and Meson de Maria counts among them. Everything throughout the hotel is tastefully done. The place is beautiful. There are so many little details done right. Plus the roof deck has spectacular views. Hotel location is great.

Almost forgot to mention, the hotel owner and staff were super accommodating.
If you're coming to Antigua, why stay at one of the big name hotels?
You should stay at this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The very beautiful Hotel Meson de Maria housed in an old colonial property in central Antigua was a sheer delight to stay in for a few days. The elegance and ambience of the hotel is matched by the attentive staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. Special thanks go to both Nancy on the front desk and Carlos the bellhop with the big smile.

The hotel’s courtyards with their very well maintained and flourishing plant life and fountains surrounded by wide verandas with comfy couches and chairs in rich colours are great places to pass an hour or two soaking in the mood. Huge vases of fresh flowers add to the grace. The rooftop view over the city to the volcano which is often capped by clouds is a sight to take in.

The rooms are a little on the small side but impeccably clean and quiet. Ask for a room with two beds and of course your room will be larger which will make it easier to negotiate around your luggage.

Breakfasts were fairly simple with the choice of either “traditional” which included eggs, mole, cheese, tomato and toast or “American” which was freshly made pancakes served with fresh fruit and maple syrup. Both of course served with fresh juice, tea or coffee.

A highly recommended hotel in central Antigua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two beds and the room will be larger. Rooms at the back, awy from the road will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#7 of 75 in Antigua
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de Maria

Property: Hotel Meson de Maria
Address: 3a Calle Poniente # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#18 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meson de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson De Maria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing