We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Intimate Hotel for all occasions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meson de Maria
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to use Meson de Maria for our wedding. We were able to have an exclusive buyout of the hotel with all 20 rooms for our guests traveling in from the U.S. for our wedding festivities.

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms very comfortable. The staff is always welcoming, going above and beyond to make you feel at home.

The staff was willing to accommodate any of our requests. They would bring us rum for roof top cocktails, snacks or anything else that any of our guests desired. They had a beautiful breakfast prepared for our guests every morning served in the courtyard.

We were also able to enjoy several wedding meals at The Beteta Family's restaurants Sabor del Tiempo and the famous La Fonda de Calle Real. We hosted our rehearsal dinner in La Fonda and the evening was spectacular. All of our guests enjoyed the delicious Guatemalan cuisine.

Overall, you cannot go wrong with Meson de Maria. It is a quaint, beautiful hotel located in the center of breathtaking Antigua, Guatemala.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Meson de Maria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 319 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

This place is a feast for the eyes. Beautifully architected and well appointed hotel. Our stay was too short, but I would happily return again. The staff are helpful, real, and friendly. They have cool softdrinks (hibiscus and lemon water) available all the time, and they offer coffee, tea and a sweet later in the day. They gave us a bagged breakfast for our super early departure, and they ushered is both in and out with smiles and love. Great experience. My only wish is that there was a fan in the room. The air didn't move despite the open windows, and like a dog, I need air blowing in my face in an enclosed place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rephello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I simply was not prepared for the absolutely exquisite service of this darling boutique hotel. The rooms are very nice; the bathrooms are just perfect; the breakfast is good; the public areas of the hotel are just lovely but it all pales in comparison of how gracious and hospitable the staff is. These people live to serve; these people should be teaching Hotels 101, 201, 301, 401 and 501, worldwide. They made superb restaurant recommendations outside of their own products; they arranged press passes for behind the lines during Holy Week; they provided prompt and swift airport service; they provided extra water and supplies for ragged photographers during one of the most photographed events in the world; they were ever-smiling; they were ever interested in the ups and downs of the day and they had an inexhaustible supply of tips and suggestions that made the week go from being bearable to being a really, really special time. And they all speak beautiful, perfect English. It's rare that I am impressed with hotel operators as I am impressed with these people. If you stay here, you simply will not be sorry at all. And it's in a marvelous location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor; it's quieter and the view is spectacular!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylviesMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

It's a beautiful hotel, great value for money and great views. The staff are very helpful and our check-in was the quickest we have experienced anywhere in the world.

Only issue, there is no bar so one cannot enjoy the views with a drink during sunset, (can have breakfast on the roof if wanted though!). Can get noisy at night with the open patio.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We flew from Flores to Guatemala city and the drive took around 45 minutes to Antigua. The Meson de Maria is very centrally located and a most attractive and very quaint hotel. Artifacts are located everywhere. the rooms are small but fine. Even although you can open the windows - they face into the central hotel square, they could do with a ceiling fan, as the rooms were a little hot to sleep in at night.

The staff could not be more helpful and provided extra pillows, and a hair dryer etc. The breakfasts are plentiful and you can get coffee at almost any time of day or night

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as the rooms on the ground floor look really dark
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surrey 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I travel for a living and can say that hotels with this level of hospitality and service are very rare. From the moment you arrive, your every wish is taken care of. The wonderful inner gardens, the cozy outside sofas and chairs, the rooftop deck, and the views make this hotel a treasure. The rooms are comfortable too. I had a king sized bed, semi-private patio, jacuzzi, and a large flat screen tv with lots of English channels. Breakfast is unbelievable....the best pancakes on the planet, lots of fresh cut fruit, and wonderful Guatemalan coffee.

Room Tip: Second floor with high beamed ceilings.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave99biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Beautiful accommodation, lovely roof terrace, the staff were very friendly and helpful (and spoke English, which was great!) - little sofas and places to sit scattered all over the hotel and there were loads of little extra touches that made it feel like a very relaxing place to stay. Rooms were beautiful - beams and exposed brickwork, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.3 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meson de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson de Maria

Address: 3a Calle Poniente # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#18 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $57 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meson de Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Meson de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson De Maria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing