We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LIKE HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casona de Antigua
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“LIKE HOME”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a small hotel located in the outer side of the wonderful city of Antigua Guatemala, this hotel is located within a residential condo what makes it extremely secure. It´s like 20 minutes slow walk from the Central Plaza, or you can use the moto taxi (TUK TUK) for 3 or 4 dollars the trip for 3 people. it has a beautiful colonial style, it´s very quiet and peacefully the only thing you hear in the morning are the birds. Personal is so kindly and helpful, the breakfast is included and it´s really good, Miguel Angel the Chef, cooks what you want as you want. It has a guest big living room, spacius and comftarble, here you feel like home, the two times I´ve been at the hotel, I sat down to read or use the wifi and nobody else show up, Wifi does not work well in the rooms, I´ve had rooms number 2 in first floor and 7 in second floor and the wifi in both rooms did not work well. About hot water that is a complain of other guests IT´S TRUE!! if you like really hot water it´ll be a problem because you only get warm water, that it´s ok for me but not for my wife, they have to work about this. I really love this place the peace and the home feeling it´s great.

Room Tip: Room 7 is really nice, located in second floor, great colonial furniture, a chimenee . room 2 is a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docranarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    50
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
95
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

La Casona is quite and calm and the staff makes you feel like home. We use it as a weekend getaway, and we enjoyed the home made meal in the terrace with an amazing view of Antigua. We also enjoyed walking to Antigua's Central Plaza (15min walk). I strongly recommend La Casona, you will love everything about it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived very early and very tired at this small Paradise. The stuff called immediately the chef to prepare our breakfast which was very good. The stuff was generally very kind and helpful. Then they gave us the master suit which was beautiful! The only thing is that we had to tell the reception to prepare some hot water.
The hotel is AMAZINGLY beautiful, for honeymoon! and romantic weekends. It was the best hotel we've ever stayed and belive me, we have travelled a lot in our life!

Room Tip: Just remember to ask for hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

La Casona is a getaway right on the quieter outer edge of Antigua, a tuk tuk ride away from el parque central. A beautiful building set around a sweet courtyard. Courteous staff, nice manager and the perfect terrazza to spend a few hours on. We enjoyed watching el Fuego puff out smoke. WiFi did not work in the room but fine everywhere else. Set in a gated community, a little odd but safe and quiet.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very nice. Didn't see the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, OK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel in Antigua. overall was a wonderful stay. Rooms and installations are nice and clean and we got the best customer service in town.
Breakfast was great and room service available.
Close to everything in a secure neighborhood.

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here last week with a very well known tour company. I would have thought that they would have vetted this place before putting their clientele there. This hotel is so far from downtown, you almost need a car. Not a convenient location.
First, the rooms. I stayed in number ten for two nights. The bathroom smelled of musty urine. The smell never went away. They advertise as having hot water. Hah! Absolutely no hot water for two days. After complaining they switched me over to number 8. Once again, zero hot water. The staff couldn't have been more indifferent. They all act as though they don't have a care in the world.
Everything was wrong with this place. From the raw egg omelettes for breakfast to the maids leaving the room door open and unlocked.
Do yourselves a favor, stay anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank highwaterdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trump23
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Arrived very early from an overnight bus in flores! Check in was at 3 but they saw how tired we were and cleaned up a room so we could nap and shower! Chef came over and asked if we wanted coffee or breakfast. Staff was excellent with really no English spoken but we got by fine. Location is a little bit of a walk from the center but it is in a nice gated community and we felt very safe. The price was good and I would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trump23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 82 in Antigua
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#3 of 82 in Antigua
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 82 in Antigua
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#16 of 82 in Antigua
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Antigua

Property: La Casona de Antigua
Address: Calle de Los Duelos Residenciales Dona Beatriz, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel are located in a exclusive area in antigua, inside of a residencial complex, is an exclusive hotel destinated to the rest, all our rooms are decorate with the style that characterized the Antigua Guatemala, and our service is personalized to each guest, come and enjoy with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casona de Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing