We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casona de Antigua
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

La Casona is a getaway right on the quieter outer edge of Antigua, a tuk tuk ride away from el parque central. A beautiful building set around a sweet courtyard. Courteous staff, nice manager and the perfect terrazza to spend a few hours on. We enjoyed watching el Fuego puff out smoke. WiFi did not work in the room but fine everywhere else. Set in a gated community, a little odd but safe and quiet.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very nice. Didn't see the others.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for La Casona de Antigua
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 212 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel in Antigua. overall was a wonderful stay. Rooms and installations are nice and clean and we got the best customer service in town.
Breakfast was great and room service available.
Close to everything in a secure neighborhood.

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here last week with a very well known tour company. I would have thought that they would have vetted this place before putting their clientele there. This hotel is so far from downtown, you almost need a car. Not a convenient location.
First, the rooms. I stayed in number ten for two nights. The bathroom smelled of musty urine. The smell never went away. They advertise as having hot water. Hah! Absolutely no hot water for two days. After complaining they switched me over to number 8. Once again, zero hot water. The staff couldn't have been more indifferent. They all act as though they don't have a care in the world.
Everything was wrong with this place. From the raw egg omelettes for breakfast to the maids leaving the room door open and unlocked.
Do yourselves a favor, stay anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank highwaterdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Arrived very early from an overnight bus in flores! Check in was at 3 but they saw how tired we were and cleaned up a room so we could nap and shower! Chef came over and asked if we wanted coffee or breakfast. Staff was excellent with really no English spoken but we got by fine. Location is a little bit of a walk from the center but it is in a nice gated community and we felt very safe. The price was good and I would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trump23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights, and was very happy with my visit. I enjoyed how quiet and relaxing the location was. Because the hotel was a simple 10-15 minute walk from town, your away from the sounds of restaurants/bars, crowds of people, and particularly the sound of cars and motos driving over the cobblestone streets. There were helpful staff on 24 hours, and the evening/night staff spoke English, and was extremely friendly and helpful. The majority of people in Antigua, however, do not speak any English, so a Spanish dictionary, Google translate, etc would be recommended. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and could be any item from the menu, not just a simple continental breakfast. My only complaint is that even after 10-15 minutes of running the water, it was barely getting warm. Overall I had a great experience and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

after reading the reviews here I thought that perhaps I was staying at a different hotel. my experience over three nights was not a very good one.

pros: fabulous breakfast - it was very tasty and there was a wide variety. the room had a good aesthetic and nice decor. there was a plethora of outlets in the room.

cons: I was quoted three different prices for shuttles. they made poor excuses about why the price changed with every email. there was next to no hot water. I was told to leave it running for five minutes. ten min later and still it was frigid. poor wifi reception. staff spoke no English. this meant that they couldn't help me arrange anything or even give directions. the hotel is located outside of town, a ten or twenty minute walk. if you know the correct way (2 lefts and then a right on 3rd calle oriente) it isn't bad, but the staff can't tell you that nor provide a map with their location. it was outside the maps provided in my guide book, so I wandered for about an hour until I found my way.

I just don't think this place is worth it. with the location and everything else going against it, there is plenty to choose from that are much better in Antigua.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank yrstruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I chose this hotel for my first visit to Antigua in August 2013 and loved it so much, that when I returned in November 2013, there was no need to check for another one in Antigua! This property is quaint and has the character of the city, in an extremely quiet, very secure location, just a few minutes walk from almost everything you want to see and do in Antigua. It's located inside of a gated community, so security is top-notch! The property is in great shape, and the rooms and grounds are very well maintained. The complimentary breakfast and area that it is served in begins your day in the best possible way, and the food prepared by their chef is excellent. Everyone associated with working there is not only helpful, but also very kind and attentive. There is no doubt whatsoever that I will continue to use this wonderful hotel when I am so fortunate to be able to return to Antigua!

Room Tip: I cannot remember my room number, but had the same room both trips. All I can say, is that from the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mississippi39120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#7 of 75 in Antigua
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#6 of 75 in Antigua
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona de Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona de Antigua

Address: Calle de Los Duelos Residenciales Dona Beatriz, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel are located in a exclusive area in antigua, inside of a residencial complex, is an exclusive hotel destinated to the rest, all our rooms are decorate with the style that characterized the Antigua Guatemala, and our service is personalized to each guest, come and enjoy with your family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casona de Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing