We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spot”
Review of The Yellow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Yellow House
Ranked #11 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Great hostel!! Clean, staff is super friendly and helpful, wonderful breakfasts. The guests range from mid twenties to sixties - all of who were pleasent and laid back. This isn't a party hostel by any means. Use of the kitchen is a great perk.
My only con about the place is if you are staying by the courtyard downstairs because it is super loud in the morning and the windows don't shut all the way. Gets loud starting around 6:30am. So no chance to sleep in, but I guess it was good afterall becuase then you get up and do things. Other than that, I couldn't find any complaints. It was a real pleasure overall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doreilly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 527 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

What this place lacks in charm and amenties, it makes up for with good value and a very helpful staff. Great choice if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We picked Yellow House out of the Rough Guide when we arrived in Antigua late at night and weren't disappointed.
Although there were only dorm beds available the first night, we saw lots of people leaving from upstairs the next day, and my friend and I managed to get a lovely twin room (with beautiful bedspreads and a lovely wall hanging) upstairs. It's a lovely place to hang out, with sofas, hammocks and a book shelf to swap anything you've finished reading.
As others have mentioned, the breakfasts are also great, although you are only allowed one pancake a day :(
The service was generally friendly, although one of the girls on the front desk didn't crack a smile the entire time we were there. We were also allowed to leave our big bags when we went on an overnight trip to Panajachel and Chichi, which was great. The free internet access and wifi was a massive bonus too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank coolcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hostel is small and charming,excellently clean and with a great breakfast. Our room upstairs was small and simple but smelled good and was cleaned everyday.there are only 2 showers and 4 bathrooms but i've never found them busy. The staff is very helpful if you want to travel around,they work as travel agency and have fair prices. Another great thing was the free wifi and free pc use. You should definetely go!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank claudia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Really nice place to stay. The room are big like the beds. Ask for a room upstairs and you will have a nice view. Don t forget a big breakfast is included in the price !

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Loic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Well, what an amazing place. I turned up the day before the 10th birthday party and was welcomed wholeheartedly by all the staff (including Adela). The party was great fun, musical chairs, pinata, chinese whispers and a bit of salsa all mixed in with a bit of rum, beer and guacamole. If you need a bit of a break from travelling, come to this beautiful town, stay in this beautiful hostel and Adela will bring you beers as you lay in the hammock upstairs, staring at the volcano, maybe.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank backpacker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Yellow House was a very affordable and popular hostel I stayed in on my first trip to Antigua this summer. The rooms were plain, but very clean, and the showers had hot water! The staff was very helpful and friendly. I planned a lot of trips to other places in Guate from the yellow house (it was definitely the cheapest option for several trips- I did a lot of checking at other travel agencies before booking). You can rent towels there too for a deposit of 30 Q. Breakfast is included but I never got to eat there because all the tours I planned started before breakfast was served.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megwing7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#46 of 75 in Antigua
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#41 of 75 in Antigua
140 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#64 of 75 in Antigua
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 75 in Antigua
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House

Address: 1a Calle Poniente #24, | Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range: $17 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yellow House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Yellow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow House Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing