We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Antigua”
Review of The Yellow House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Yellow House
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Antigua”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Yellow House is a place to recommend and to one organise your trip in the beautiful Guatemala, Ceci owner on the counter at the entrance is the best of Guatemala, and also Sofi always provides to help you in all things.
The place is very clean, comfortable, good location, very friendly staff and it is the hostel in Guatemala with the best breakfast

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    106
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
195
110
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a charming setting, gardens and 2nd floor terrace. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and functional. Breakfast is incided, served by the charming cooks and includes eggs to order, pancakes, fresh fruit and potatoes.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are close to the bathrooms, upstairs is a bit quieter and on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnastx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We found yellow house in the lonely planet and walked in on a rainy day after having spent four days in the jungle with cold showers no wifi and uncomfortable beds. Coming to yellow house was like walking in to a warm house and getting a hug from mum. The rooms are lovely. Some are more spacious than others but all of them are insanely clean. This place is an OCD sufferers dream. The bathrooms get cleaned almost every 15 minutes and are spotless. The showers are always hot and powerful. They serve a fantastic vegetarian breakfast with potatoes, fruit, pancakes, beans and omelettes or scrambled eggs. They also have a travel agency in the building with competitive prices in case you need to get anywhere. The staff Sophie and Cecilia are very helpful as are the ladies who cook breakfast and keep the place spotless. Whilst we didn't stay in the dorms, we had a look and they look quite spacious too. I would recommend this place highly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A great, highly recommended hostel. Lovely rooms, comfortable and VERY clean bathrooms, a delicious breakfast, and the friendliest staff I've recently encountered. A great place to stay while in Antigua.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Really nice place. Stayed in a beautifully decorated private room. Wonderful breakfast, best have ever come across in a hostel. Nice communal terrace/ hammock area. Would definitely stay here again, one of the nicer spots across our whole central america trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmasiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, one of the best hostals in central america! Its nit that cheap, we paid 25 $ per private room but it was so worth it. The breakfast that included is amazing, and our room was really big, comfy bed, flat screen tv and lots of place to put your stuff. The showers are shared but sooo clean and hot water 24 hours! Had a great time, and my favorite thing was the great rooftop w awasome view and chill vibes!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dariaschitrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I think as a couple or group this would be an excellent choice. The entire place was immaculate, the staff super helpful and breakfast was great. And there is a lovely roof terrace. However, the front dorm is a tough place to sleep as any kind of traffic, or entry/exit through the front door make the doors/window in the dorm rattle which makes a tonne of noise. Even an audiobook made it a poor nights' sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#45 of 75 in Antigua
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#60 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#50 of 75 in Antigua
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#38 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House

Property: The Yellow House
Address: 1a Calle Poniente #24, | Between Ave Del Desengano & 7Av North, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Yellow House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Yellow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yellow House Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing