We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved this resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I absolutely loved this resort! It was charming, quaint, and away from the hustle and bustle of Antigua. When we entered the grounds, it was like, "ahhh!" You really feel like you've arrived somewhere extraordinary; it's like you are on another planet - peaceful, serene, with immaculately manicured grounds. The estate is sprawling, set pretty far back from the town, with multiple checkpoints to control who enters and exits. The clientele are upscale versus the backpackers you see in town. It's like its own town really, with a coffee plantation. And we awoke to its smell each morning, a real experience.

The staff were wonderful - very helpful and accomodating. It's a boutique hotel, so only has a handful of rooms. You really feel waited on. No one ever told us no - made shuttle arrangements without notice; and the bar stayed open after hours to serve us food and drinks. English was a struggle, but shame on us for not knowing more Spanish.

The room was huge and bathroom adorable. There was a fireplace and blackout blinds, plus a large balcony overlooking the pool. The pool was deserted most days and just picturesque.

I saw that some members complained about the noise from the tours, but we didn't notice it at all. We partook in some of the tours and being on-site made it even more convenient. Honeslty, other than the price (it is higher than most places in Antigua), I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicam570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana K, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you here at Filadelfia Coffee Resort, we sincerely appreciate your comments, and hope you come again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    32
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
48
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The resort is set in beautiful grounds and I found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly, nothing was too difficult. Only had 2 problems: I was in room 2 and for the first few days at 7am workmen started banging away just outside my room on the balcony extension so the long lie went out the window and every night I would settle up my "extras" for the day and it would take a while to do this, bearing in mind I only had lunch, evening meal and maybe a drink in the bar to settle up, I could be at reception for 15 mins at a time. Also I'm glad I settled every night as there was always a item stuck on my bill that had nothing to do with me so I had to query it. But I would still recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to go back myself. All in all a very lovely resort. I took part in the coffee plantation tour, mule ride and zip line whilst I was there and would recommend these to everyone. Well done Filadelfia for making my stay a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, 3 & 4 are the standard king size rooms and are located by the reception desk, dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana K, Public Relations Manager at Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate it and it is a pleasure to know that you had such a nice time with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

KInd regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel is nice looking. But, I found the interaction with staff unenjoyable. They sent me an email saying that I had paid already (I gave them my credit card # when reserving). Staff at the hotel claimed that my card had not been charged and would not let me into room with charging my card. I was baffled as to why they would send an email to me before arriving saying I had paid and then state that I had not paid upon arrival. Ended up having to call credit card company. Not the most enjoyable way to spend an hour on vacation. Also found their approach to exchange rates annoying. Quoted prices in dollars and then charge an above market exchange rate. This was especially disappointing given the high rate associated with the room. I recommend staying at a place like Quinta Las Flores. Cheaper, just as beautiful, and much better service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobFinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana K, Manager at Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We are sorry for the inconvenience, as we told you while you were here, we are in the process of verification of our system, however we appreciate your comments to follow up the issue and ensure that something similar doesn’t happen again. Thank you for staying with us. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay but visited for the zip line. It was very well organized and we had a great time. Reservations are highly recommended; we were surprised at how busy they were. The shuttle from Antigua was right on time and the whole staff was extremely friendly. Next time we are in town we will visit again for their other tours. The only downside was their shop closed fairly early (4P).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana K, Manager at Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, fue un gusto atenderle en Finca Filadelfia. Los esperamos la nuevamente,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Too be honest it was a bit disappointing. The farm / area is very, very tourist minded (what started as coffee farm and museum, now has paintball, ziplining and other activities). The thing which disturbed me the most were the big, loud diesel trucks that drive tourists around on an area which is easily walkable for most people. the disgusting diesel smells made me not buy any coffee there - it cannot be good for the plants. On top the prices are high for Guatemalan standards.

What is fun: seeing the plants and the full process from plant to coffee (guide spoke very good Engish), unpeeling the bean yourself and trying fresh coffee.

If you are in Antigua for a short visit it's nice, but if you stay longer in Central America I would recommend finding a more authentic farm which cares about its environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We loved everything in Filadelfia. The rooms are great, The grounds
are beautiful! The activities you can't find in any other hotel. We went
on a coffee tour, zip line and long walks in a beautiful setting.

We ate three times in the restaurant. Every time was a taste sensation.
Our favorites were the salmon and steaks. Fresh, perfect every time.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean.

The staff were friendly and helpful in both the hotel and restaurant.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freddy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved our stay at Finca Filadefia. The grounds
are beautiful and the room are beautiful. There are
many events you can enjoy like the coffee tour and
zip lining right on premices.

The restaurant is 5 star (in the hotel). We had many dishes from
lomito to salmon and all were excellent. Prepared, presented very
nicely with great flavors.

Service all around was 5 star. Prices are great value for
such an outstaning hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
13.9 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#7 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#4 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#8 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Soleil La Antigua
Soleil La Antigua
#20 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#2 of 82 in Antigua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours

Property: Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours
Address: Mts Al Norte de Iglesia de San Felipe de Jesus 150 | 150 meters North of the Church of San Felipe de Jesus, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#16 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#19 Family Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filadelfia Estate is located in Antigua, Guatemala. On the outskirts of the ancient city of Antigua, the former capital of the Spanish Empire of Central America, among the green coffee bushes lies Filadelfia Coffee Estate, owned for generations by the Dalton family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Finca Filadelfia Coffee Resort & Tours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filadelfia Coffee Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing