We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - it's hospitality should be rate #1 in Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We have just come back from Antigua after spending a well deserved vacation. Hotel Candelaria was the perfect retreat, quiet and out of the centre of town, but all the "in" places in town were easily accesible via the colorful Tuk Tuk's (motorized taxis-Q15 each trip anywhere in Antigua (about $1.80)). Sitting on the roof top terrace watching a volcano erupt in the distance was one of the highlights of our trip. It is a beautiful hotel, rooms spotlessly clean, delicious food and the staff goes out of the way to cater to your every need, especially Moises and Julio.

We can't hardly wait to go back next year and visit our new acquired friends at Candelaria hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGr8tOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 143 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2009

Stayed for a week at Candelaria with a mission group in December, 2008. Other than being a fairly long walk from the main attractions of Antigua, the hotel is perfect. All rooms open onto a lush interior courtyard and the rooftop terrace offers great views of both Agua and Fuego volcanos. The staff is great, Rudolfo, the owner, seems to be everywhere and knows everything (we called him "Rudolfo, the guy who never sleeps") Can't really comment on the price, as we went as part of a "package." I would highly recommend Candelaria to anyone visiting Antigua. (There are restaurants within a short walk, and the ever-present "tuk-tuks" deliver passengers to the main square at a budget price)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocketmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have just come back from Antigua after spending Holy Week, What an incredible experience. Hotel Candelaria was the perfect retreat, quiet and out of the centre of town,so we could actually get a taxi at our door, rather than having to walk for blocks around streets clogged with processions and traffic. It is a beautiful hotel, rooms spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. Sitting on the roof top terrace in the twilight watching a volcano erupt in the distance was a highlight.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed for two nights as part of a GAP package trip (which may explain the low rate) and was most impressed by the hotel and the staff. We were given a luxurious suite with a king and queen bed, everything was spotless and kept that way. There is a fantastic roof terrace with great views over the town to the volcanoes. Position is 10/15 minutes from the main square. Antigua was by far my favourite town on the whole trip - attractive, low-key and quietly elegant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelBruton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

It was more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It was beautiful, charming, clean and unpretentious. The staff was incredibly accommodating, helpful and friendly (especially Moises -- one of 2 front desk clerks). It was a little walk from the Center Plaza (15 minutes) but Moises readily helps you with catching a very cheap taxi if you need to. Being away from the Center Plaza also makes it very quiet (which is great when you want to wind down). Also the manager is very friendly and helpfu. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ltp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

This is the perfect hotel for a nervous first-time traveler to Guatemala. We were not, but the owner/staff will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. They got a doctor immediately for another guest, moved furniture to make the rooms fit the travelers, and took us around the town when they had time. We would return. Friends of ours followed us. They had the same experience. You have to walk to the center of town, but it is not far.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntoniaSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

I stayed at Candelaria with my teenage son for 4 nights. It is warm, gracious and charming. The room was cozy with 2 sets of French doors that opened to a private area of the courtyard making it seem bigger, brighter and more beautiful. The furnishings (colorful handmade textiles and handcarved woods) and bathrooms are of high quality. The staff seemed like friends by the end of our 5 days with them. With refined courtesy, there was nothing, small or large that they would not do for us. My son spent one evening talking late into the night with the young man at the front desk, speaking Spanish, learning about his family & life in Guatemala.
The large rooftop terrace became my morning coffee porch and my nighttime plantarium. I loved watching the clouds and steam from the volcanos. There are also several other comfortable and quiet sitting areas as well as a computer space. This is not a fancy hotel and the rooms are modestly sized but the experience is like being in a carefully polished in-town estate staffed with kind and giving professionals. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rheainsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#20 of 75 in Antigua
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Posada El Antano
Posada El Antano
#65 of 75 in Antigua
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#42 of 75 in Antigua
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Address: Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $61 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in our historical and cultural destination : Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. The Hotel exhibits a collection of colonial style furniture in the most precious woods in Guatemala. Also its architecture is a remembrance of the Emblematic House of the colonial period of this town : Antigua Guatemala. All the house corridors, dining area, living area, terrace and all our guest rooms are carefully layout for a comfortable and authentic experience for a visit to remember for years to come. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need. We also have a detailed map for you. We want to serve you with all our enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing