We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat for Santa Semana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat for Santa Semana”
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We have just come back from Antigua after spending Holy Week, What an incredible experience. Hotel Candelaria was the perfect retreat, quiet and out of the centre of town,so we could actually get a taxi at our door, rather than having to walk for blocks around streets clogged with processions and traffic. It is a beautiful hotel, rooms spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. Sitting on the roof top terrace in the twilight watching a volcano erupt in the distance was a highlight.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    34
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
35
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruton, Somerset
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed for two nights as part of a GAP package trip (which may explain the low rate) and was most impressed by the hotel and the staff. We were given a luxurious suite with a king and queen bed, everything was spotless and kept that way. There is a fantastic roof terrace with great views over the town to the volcanoes. Position is 10/15 minutes from the main square. Antigua was by far my favourite town on the whole trip - attractive, low-key and quietly elegant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelBruton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2008

It was more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It was beautiful, charming, clean and unpretentious. The staff was incredibly accommodating, helpful and friendly (especially Moises -- one of 2 front desk clerks). It was a little walk from the Center Plaza (15 minutes) but Moises readily helps you with catching a very cheap taxi if you need to. Being away from the Center Plaza also makes it very quiet (which is great when you want to wind down). Also the manager is very friendly and helpfu. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ltp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

This is the perfect hotel for a nervous first-time traveler to Guatemala. We were not, but the owner/staff will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. They got a doctor immediately for another guest, moved furniture to make the rooms fit the travelers, and took us around the town when they had time. We would return. Friends of ours followed us. They had the same experience. You have to walk to the center of town, but it is not far.

  • Liked — Family owned and operated; wonderful service
  • Disliked — It is a bit of a walk which might bother some people. They will get you taxis.
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntoniaSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

I stayed at Candelaria with my teenage son for 4 nights. It is warm, gracious and charming. The room was cozy with 2 sets of French doors that opened to a private area of the courtyard making it seem bigger, brighter and more beautiful. The furnishings (colorful handmade textiles and handcarved woods) and bathrooms are of high quality. The staff seemed like friends by the end of our 5 days with them. With refined courtesy, there was nothing, small or large that they would not do for us. My son spent one evening talking late into the night with the young man at the front desk, speaking Spanish, learning about his family & life in Guatemala.
The large rooftop terrace became my morning coffee porch and my nighttime plantarium. I loved watching the clouds and steam from the volcanos. There are also several other comfortable and quiet sitting areas as well as a computer space. This is not a fancy hotel and the rooms are modestly sized but the experience is like being in a carefully polished in-town estate staffed with kind and giving professionals. I will be coming back.

  • Liked — the gracious staff and regional handmade furnishings, the views, the quiet, beautiful courtyard
  • Disliked — I think some people (not myself) would find the 8 block walk to town too far. But cheap taxis are everywhere.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rheainsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

My wife and I spent three nights at Candelaria with our infant and truly hated to leave. As you will find in much of Antigua, you have no idea what you are getting into as far as hotels until you make it inside. From the outside it was very understated and nothing fancy, but once you step through the front door you will see beautiful woodwork and a lovely courtyard that is the center to all of the rooms.

The common areas and the rooms were immaculate and the people were very kind and helpful. They helped us with sterilizing bottles, rides into the center of town, and bookings at other hotels. The breakfast was terrific and they had a rooftop patio that had wonderful views of the volcanos.

This hotel might not be for everyone as it was about a 15 minute walk into the center of town, and the rooms did not have tv which seems to be tough on many Americans (usually me), but it was perfect for us. There was a tv you could watch in a common room, and WIFI was a huge bonus!! WIFI allowed us to call family free every night via SKYPE. The hotel was as peaceful and beautiful as one could imagine. We intend to stay there again when we return!!

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — No tv in room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank smokedchub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 75 in Antigua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#33 of 75 in Antigua
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#38 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Property: Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Address: Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need in town and we will try to help you with a detailed map. We care that our clerks know the places you are travelling to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing