We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hacienda style boutique hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

with beautiful, well appointed clean rooms with large (king) beds. the staff goes out of its way to accommodate and prepares a cooked breakfast in a kitchen area almost as small as mine at home!! the hotel is about 15 minutes walking distance from antigua's central square, but very walkable especially during the day and you'll be rewarded with finding wonderful colonial houses, church ruins, cafes and markets along the way!! i just enjoy sitting around the courtyard in early evening reading a book and relaxing...

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your heart and your smile...we appreciate a lot when someone like you, gives us such sweet words and has eyes and soul to see much more...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had spent a week in Guatemala on a mission trip and stayed in a hotel in Zacapa with thin sheets, blankets, and pillows and no hot water. We had our cultural day in Antigua and stayed here and loved it. Nice clean rooms and HOT water (when you dont have it for a week, it IS a big deal). The interior is an open courtyard and there is a beautiful view of the city and mountains from the roof. Not sure how much it costs (relative to other hotels), but we loved it and when we go back we will stay there.

Room Tip: 107 had hot water (not all of our group had hot water)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goneinaheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Arrived here for a one-nighter in Antigua. I fell for the Expedia stats... Checked into a ground-floor room across from the the fountain and the front desk. I sleep like the dead and there was no way this was going to happen. Once the team of middle-america bible thumpers poured in and proceeded to talk at old-testament volume, I requested another room. Was given another upstairs, away from the bustle. No wifi there. Sigh. Moved down the hall and had moderate reception. No hot-water from the shower that evening, but plenty from the sink. Requested it be fixed, unsuccessfully. Mattress quality is forgettable at best. Not surprisingly, the gospel waits for no man, so was awoken to more full-voiced exuberance early the next morning. Cold shower. In addition to the guts of this property being acoustically problematic, this hotel is a healthy 15 minute walk into the centre. At the end of the day, a 15Q tuk-tuk ride back is probably a good bet. The staff is nice, owner clearly proud and helpful but it just doesn't hold a candle to other properties closer to town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stu_W1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

We try hard to manage a friendly coexistence among our guests. All the situations you incurred could be easily fixed On Site. I am sorry you were so hard on your comment and did not asked for our management staff during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just stayed at hotel for 5 days and really enjoyed the service and accommodations from Rudolpho and his staff. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and terrace upstairs on the roof where the view of the volcanos is awesome. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs rooms that have a small balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have been to and stayed in Antigua 4 different times we've had really good experiences at five of Antigua's better hotels,what sets Candelaria Antigua Hotel apart is Rudolpho and his staff,you will not meet a nicer person who is as warm and welcoming as him likewise his staff,when we stayed here there was a missionary conference and they were quite loud Rudolpho went well beyond the typical hotel ownership to show our stay there was truly appreciated I really doubt you'll be treat better anywhere!

Room Tip: The Junior suite or the deluxe rooms are the way to go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhobbiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here two nights at the start of a 2-week trip around Guatemala. This is a 3-star hotel at best. In hindsight, you can get similar quality for cheaper if you try. The hotel is a 20-min walk to to centre of Antigua which is quite awkward. On the plus side, the staff are very helpful and warm and friendly. The courtyard is really pretty. The coffee is really nice. The rooms are done in a colonial style but our room smelled of damp masked by too much wood polish. Breakfast was spartan - there is no buffet and the servings are small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shenaniganso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We are staying three nights with a tour group. Although the hotel's construction is new, much care has been taken to fit it into Antiguas colonial style. The room and bath is quite adequate. Free wifi and a good breakfast buffet with coffee served very early. It is not close to the city square, so it is quieter than some locations.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#27 of 75 in Antigua
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#12 of 75 in Antigua
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#29 of 75 in Antigua
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#20 of 75 in Antigua
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Address: Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $71 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need in town and we will try to help you with a detailed map. We care that our clerks know the places you are travelling to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing