We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Such a quaint hotel away (but not too far) from all that you want to see in Antigua. I would be sure to know exactly where you are going and how to get there as the shuttle van and at least one tuktuk had no idea. Loved the courtyard and upper deck.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel took 7 years to build. Small with a courtyard, 10 minutes walk from the main square, the hotel serves a continental breakfast. Not very big rooms but very confortable. I also didn't miss the fact they have no air conditionning or fan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Candelaria several times over the last couple of years. The charm is never compromised, and the staff are always ready to serve and greet with a smile. The rooms are always clean, and Rodolfo, the manager, is always at our service. They go above and beyond to accomodate people. Candelaria is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, water was hot and beds were comfortable! Price included breakfast and off street secure parking(we rentted a car for trip). Hotel was very attractive with great ambiance - and had rooftop patio with excellent views of surrounding volcanos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cht98422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Today we checked out of Candelaria after a 7 night stay. My wife and I enjoyed Antigua and this hotel very much. Room was large. Flat screen TV with cable, bathroom was twice as large as mine back home.The roof garden offered incredible views of the 3 volcanoes. Cozy, quaint, and comfortable. Staff treated us as family. One night I asked to use the oven to reheat some pizza and was told "Mi casa es su casa". The place really felt like home. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Near town and easy to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had the privilege of spending a little over 2 weeks at this hotel. The rooms are very clean with hand carved furniture, and accomodations that surpass any expectations. The view from the hotel is breath-taking. The staff is warm and welcoming, and cared for us as if we were their own family. This hotel was out of the way of the noise of the city center, and offered peace and relaxation after long and busy days. The food was carefully prepared for us every day. We felt safe and comfortable, and we cannot wait to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is different from the others, and all offer a restful night and peaceful wake-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaLisa327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

We are very grateful you took the time to write your opinion. We try very hard to keep up with the maintenance of our Colonial Style Hotel for you to feel safe and warm. Guatemala is a beautiful place and we are happy you apprecciate it. You have friends in Antigua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've stayed here 2 years in a row for a week-long mission trip. the rooms vary in size, but are clean. the hotel has a beautiful atrium and gorgeous views from the roof-top terrace. the food is delicious! the staff is friendly, accommodating!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannalarria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your review! We want you to feel with total confidence you have a friend´s house in Antigua that will always try hard to make you comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 75 in Antigua
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#43 of 75 in Antigua
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#36 of 75 in Antigua
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada El Antano
Posada El Antano
#64 of 75 in Antigua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Address: Colonia El Carmen, Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria. Rotulo de azulejos en entrada : Candelaria Antigua., Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $61 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in our historical and cultural destination : Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. The Hotel exhibits a collection of colonial style furniture in the most precious woods in Guatemala. Also its architecture is a remembrance of the Emblematic House of the colonial period of this town : Antigua Guatemala. All the house corridors, dining area, living area, terrace and all our guest rooms are carefully layout for a comfortable and authentic experience for a visit to remember for years to come. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need. We also have a detailed map for you. We want to serve you with all our enthusiasm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing