We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Candalaria Antigua was lovely.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Candalaria Antigua was lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, water was hot and beds were comfortable! Price included breakfast and off street secure parking(we rentted a car for trip). Hotel was very attractive with great ambiance - and had rooftop patio with excellent views of surrounding volcanos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cht98422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    31
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
30
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Today we checked out of Candelaria after a 7 night stay. My wife and I enjoyed Antigua and this hotel very much. Room was large. Flat screen TV with cable, bathroom was twice as large as mine back home.The roof garden offered incredible views of the 3 volcanoes. Cozy, quaint, and comfortable. Staff treated us as family. One night I asked to use the oven to reheat some pizza and was told "Mi casa es su casa". The place really felt like home. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Near town and easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had the privilege of spending a little over 2 weeks at this hotel. The rooms are very clean with hand carved furniture, and accomodations that surpass any expectations. The view from the hotel is breath-taking. The staff is warm and welcoming, and cared for us as if we were their own family. This hotel was out of the way of the noise of the city center, and offered peace and relaxation after long and busy days. The food was carefully prepared for us every day. We felt safe and comfortable, and we cannot wait to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is different from the others, and all offer a restful night and peaceful wake-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaLisa327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are very grateful you took the time to write your opinion. We try very hard to keep up with the maintenance of our Colonial Style Hotel for you to feel safe and warm. Guatemala is a beautiful place and we are happy you apprecciate it. You have friends in Antigua!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've stayed here 2 years in a row for a week-long mission trip. the rooms vary in size, but are clean. the hotel has a beautiful atrium and gorgeous views from the roof-top terrace. the food is delicious! the staff is friendly, accommodating!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannalarria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review! We want you to feel with total confidence you have a friend´s house in Antigua that will always try hard to make you comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this delightful retreat. The hotel is a restored colonial home built around a beautiful courtyard with engaging artwork and a large common room on the first floor (second floor for US). The staff are friendly and helpful. It is a good walk from the hotel to the center of the town but a pleasant chance to discover many of the delights of the city. There are great views from the roof terrace and it's a great place to enjoy an afternoon drink.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chotano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

The hotel is a little off the beaten path which I consider a good thing. It's quiet, but you can easily get to the noise, the restaurants, the shopping, etc. The staff went out of their way to assist us - and ALWAYS with a smile. I felt safe, welcomed, and very at peace in this hotel and already am making plans to return!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reynoldsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I traveled last summer with a mission group, my first time. Because I have stayed in many motel chains in the US, I had mediocre expectations of my accommodations. Radolpho and his great staff went way beyond what is generally expected by Americans. I felt like I was a guest in his home rather than a customer. I have never been treated with as much respect and genuine warmth. The meals were excellent! He and his staff truly provide the best possible experience anyone could ask for. Thank you so much for making me feel "at home"! Will see you again, my friend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drdressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#22 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#10 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#26 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#27 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
13.8 mi away
Casa Santo Domingo
Casa Santo Domingo
#6 of 80 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Property: Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Address: Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need in town and we will try to help you with a detailed map. We care that our clerks know the places you are travelling to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing