We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, Staff like family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had the privilege of spending a little over 2 weeks at this hotel. The rooms are very clean with hand carved furniture, and accomodations that surpass any expectations. The view from the hotel is breath-taking. The staff is warm and welcoming, and cared for us as if we were their own family. This hotel was out of the way of the noise of the city center, and offered peace and relaxation after long and busy days. The food was carefully prepared for us every day. We felt safe and comfortable, and we cannot wait to stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Each room is different from the others, and all offer a restful night and peaceful wake-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaLisa327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

We are very grateful you took the time to write your opinion. We try very hard to keep up with the maintenance of our Colonial Style Hotel for you to feel safe and warm. Guatemala is a beautiful place and we are happy you apprecciate it. You have friends in Antigua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 142 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've stayed here 2 years in a row for a week-long mission trip. the rooms vary in size, but are clean. the hotel has a beautiful atrium and gorgeous views from the roof-top terrace. the food is delicious! the staff is friendly, accommodating!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jannalarria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you for your review! We want you to feel with total confidence you have a friend´s house in Antigua that will always try hard to make you comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this delightful retreat. The hotel is a restored colonial home built around a beautiful courtyard with engaging artwork and a large common room on the first floor (second floor for US). The staff are friendly and helpful. It is a good walk from the hotel to the center of the town but a pleasant chance to discover many of the delights of the city. There are great views from the roof terrace and it's a great place to enjoy an afternoon drink.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chotano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The hotel is a little off the beaten path which I consider a good thing. It's quiet, but you can easily get to the noise, the restaurants, the shopping, etc. The staff went out of their way to assist us - and ALWAYS with a smile. I felt safe, welcomed, and very at peace in this hotel and already am making plans to return!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I traveled last summer with a mission group, my first time. Because I have stayed in many motel chains in the US, I had mediocre expectations of my accommodations. Radolpho and his great staff went way beyond what is generally expected by Americans. I felt like I was a guest in his home rather than a customer. I have never been treated with as much respect and genuine warmth. The meals were excellent! He and his staff truly provide the best possible experience anyone could ask for. Thank you so much for making me feel "at home"! Will see you again, my friend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drdressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Clean, basic hotel, in a quite area, about a 5 minute walk from the main square.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaFella82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandelariaManager, Manager at Candelaria Antigua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

We are commited to create the most clean, calm and enjoyable atmosphere at the Best Price for Nice Hotels in Town. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

As Ricardo from hotel Cirilo did not have rooms, he arranged the nearby hotel Candelaria for us. We were greated very friendly by the staff. Our first room was fine, but quite noisy. It appeared that there was a big group that went to a wedding and our room was not situated very good so we woke up when they came back.

The next morning we asked them to change rooms and we got a great room. Much better location and very spacious. We stayed there for several nights and were the only guests. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is good. There is wifi and a computer for internet.
When we arrived our diving gear was still wet from the diving in Mexico. They were very friendly and let us dry our gear on the roof terrace. When it started to rain a bit during the day they even got it inside for us (we were in town).
The centre of town is a 10-15 minute walk, but the tuk tuks are very cheap (cheaper than taxis) and come by the hotel very often.
We had a voucher from Tripadvisor so that the hotel was USD 69 per night. All hotels in Antigua are more expensive than hotels in other Guatemalan cities. We enjoyed our stay very much and would like to thank Moses and Rodolfo especially!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I&P-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#25 of 75 in Antigua
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#31 of 75 in Antigua
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#22 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 75 in Antigua
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona de Antigua
La Casona de Antigua
#11 of 75 in Antigua
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#34 of 75 in Antigua
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candelaria Antigua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candelaria Antigua Hotel

Address: Avenida Dolores del Cerro No. 5 | Esquina Con Calle de Candelaria, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Antigua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $56 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candelaria Antigua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a work of art with beautiful and comfortable facilities in Antigua Guatemala. Enjoy a quiet relaxing time and an unforgettable natural scenery from our roof terrace overlooking three volcanoes. We carefully look over our cleaning, shining and decoration in our rooms. A delicious breakfast with options for varied tastes is served, always with freshly baked bread and seasonal fruits. Please ask our frontdesk for any other need in town and we will try to help you with a detailed map. We care that our clerks know the places you are travelling to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Candelaria Antigua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candelaria Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing