We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Definitely Get What You Pay For :(”
Review of Hotel Burkhard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Burkhard
Ranked #22 of 130 Antigua B&B and Inns
Solola Department, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You Definitely Get What You Pay For :(”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a night out with friends in Antigua. It'd been recommended by others who said it was nice, clean, and a walkable distance from the main plaza.The affordable rates, laundry service, and friendly owners were also major selling points, but when I walked inside, I immediately knew I'd gotten exactly what I'd paid for: bugs, mold, and an uncomfortable night of no sleep.

I wanted to like this place so badly because it is very inexpensive and the friends of friends swore by it, but as we were getting ready, there were roaches actually crawling up from the drains and out of the sink. My friends are much less squeamish than I, so even though I wanted to pack up and leave immediately, we ended up staying the night.

Unfortunately, during the night I noticed a bug (I believe to be a roach) actually crawling across my friend's bed-sheet. I killed it. Needless to say, I got no rest.

If price is your main point, then you'll definitely save a few bucks. However, if you're willing and able to spend a little more for cleanliness, comfort and piece of mind, I would highly suggest doing so! I have never returned to this hotel, though my friends continue to stay here whenever they are in Antigua.

Room Tip: I've heard the top floor rooms are much better and smell less of mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbiased_And_Honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
37
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Hugo & Jenny, the couple who run this little hotel are lovely, helpful people. Laundry is available. For 150 Quetzales, a king-size bed with a private hot water bath & cable-- you can't go wrong. We stayed last year in September and woudln't stay anywhere else if we went back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi_and_Abbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Posada Hotel Burkhard for 2 days at the end of May and liked it. Very good location, very good value and the owners helped us a lot with everything! The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff, value and location of the Burkhard are unbeatable, but the downstairs rooms are dark and claustrophobic. They have access to laundry and are walking distance to all major attractions in Antigua, but the rooms could use some updating.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you want more light and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A friend of our recommended this hotel to us and we're so glad he did. This charming little hotel is in a central location and I doubt you can find better value at 110 GTQ a night. We booked in for 4 days and ended up spending 15 days! The room was very comfortable with excellent internet, cable TV, hot showers and free drinking water. Our room was cleaned ever day and we received fresh towels on request. The owners and staff are extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful. While we were there, they opened a little restaurant on the premises. We had the best steak in all of Central America there at a reasonable price. Couldn't recommend this hotel more highly and will definitely stay there again if we return to Antigua.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are the best - more light and less traffic in the hallways. They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honduras
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Much cheaper than other places around but it didn't feel like a budget hotel. Rooms are very well decorated and maintained and the bathroom was clean. It is a small place with maybe about 8 or 10 rooms. We just stayed one night but if I return to Antigua, I will definitely stay here. It is about 3 blocks away from the main restaurant and bar street so it is quiet but convenient for tourists. You can use the kitchen and their is a laundry machine on site. Very safe and the man at the desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room upstairs so you get a little better view of Antigua and the surrounding volcanoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is where I always stay in Antigua. The value is amazing and I always recommend it to friends and other travellers. Small kitchen, wifi, coin laundry, free water, cable tv, hot water. All for Q110? Seriously great deal. The rooms are either with 2 twin beds or 1 queen. Smallish rooms so if you have a lot of luggage it might be a tight squeeze but seriously a great place. Hugo the owner is a great guy and very helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms upstairs! More light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJMGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#45 of 75 in Antigua
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson de Maria
Hotel Meson de Maria
#2 of 75 in Antigua
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#30 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Burkhard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burkhard

Property: Hotel Burkhard
Address: 3a Calle Oriente 19a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Posada Hotel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing