We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Antigua”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacio de Dona Leonor
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our group of four travellers stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in November 2012. This is an impeccably restored colonial-era hotel, with outstanding service. The rooms are among the most beautiful I have seen anywhere in the world. The details of the rooms, as well as the common areas are very tastefully done, with unparalleled attention to detail. Service was also excellent; each guest is greeted at the door each time you enter.
We also enjoyed a drink in the lovely bar and ate breakfast each day in the restaurant. The food was very good, but service a bit slow.
The location was ideal, just a block from the central plaza. I will definitely stay here again upon any return trips to Antigua.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel with superb service food and decoration I recently stayed here for almost 1 week with close friends and family for my wedding, it was an amazing experience. THIS JEWEL OF A HOTEL WILL FOR EVER BE OUR FIRST AND ONLY CHOICE TO STAY AT ANTIGUA....
THANK YOU FOR YOUR PRICELESS SERVICE.....

Belen & Mario

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belenandonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. We were with a large group, occupying most of the rooms, and each room was magnificently decorated. The staff was wonderful and the breakfasts were perfect every day. And the location cannot be beat. I plan to stay here each time I visit Antigua.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

An excellent hotel. Very welcoming – the manager and staff greeted us on arrival. Efficient check-in and out. The hotel, the sixteenth century palace of the daughter of the conquistador Pedro de Alvarado, is built around a central shady courtyard with a tiled, splashing fountain and lush planting. We had breakfasts and dinner served at tables here – a lovely place to eat (separate review of the restaurant). Excellent breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, superb Guatemalan coffee, and a choice of hot dishes all of which were excellent including a first rate Eggs Benedict. Our room was “Paula”, very luxurious, with a huge bathroom. Safe provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a lovely time staying at the Palacio de Dona Leonor. We stayed at our beginning of tour and returned to the same hotel at the end, as we enjoyed it so much.
The hotel is in a very good location at the center next to the central plaza and cathedral.
The room was very big with two double beds, and a wonderful modern bathroom. The room looks into a lovely garden courtyard, very well maintained. The staff were very friendly and service was excellent.Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zipih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Palacio de Dona Leonor is a beautiful property with rooms that surround a lovely garden courtyard. The property is located in the heart of Antigua close to the center of town, so you can walk everywhere. Each room is very unique and different, so if you have the opportunity check them out. If you are visiting during Semana Santa, make sure and request a balcony room so you can view the processions. It is amazing to see!!! The hotel is full of beautiful antiques and artwork. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day and the service and food were good. Loved the Fried Plantains!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank haveart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We really enjoyed Palacio de Dona Leonor. The room was large and comfortable with a nice view of the garden in the courtyard. we did not eat at the restaurant but were very pleased with the referrals the staff gave us to other eateries. We would return again. The only downside is that they have no screens and there was a mosquito buzzing about one night, but screens don't seem to be typical in Guatemala as we did not find any at other hotels so I guess this is the norm. Thus, take some bug repellent and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor so you don't have to go up and down the stairs to get to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.2 mi away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.4 mi away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#12 of 75 in Antigua
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 75 in Antigua
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#16 of 75 in Antigua
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 75 in Antigua
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio de Dona Leonor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio de Dona Leonor

Address: 4a Calle Oriente Casa # 8, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $171 - $2,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palacio de Dona Leonor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique hotel in Antigua Guatemala. Experience the history of Antigua Guatemala in one place. Travel 500 years in the past and enjoy the decor and details of each room, which are named after the characters of the conquest of Guatemala. If you are looking for quality and excellent service, we recommend you this magical hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacio de Dona Leonor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De Dona Leonor Hotel Antigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing