We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but WARNING about exchange rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, but WARNING about exchange rates”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed here recently and the property was clean and pleasant. Rooms were ample and maintained very well. Door lock on my room wiggled and didn't feel very secure, but the property is gated at night.

My main complaint was the advertised rate were listed in US dollars. So I called, left my credit card and reserved a room. When I arrived, they said they had already charged my credit card earlier in the week, but instead of charging me in US dollars, they charged me in Guatemalan Quetzales (no big surprise here), but the exchange rate was very high and above the market exchange rate. Ended up costing me well over their listed rate once you converted back to US dollars on my credit card statement. To me it's unethical to advertise in US dollars and use your own exchange rate. What's to stop them from charging 10%, 20%, 30% over market rate with their so-called house exchange rate? If you're not careful or ask up front, you could end up paying a lot more than expected by using their house exchange rate instead of the market rate. Once I arrived I asked them to refund my credit card and I would pay the listed rate in cash, but they said they had already charged it and they couldn't process refunds (which didn't sound right to me).

Also, they charged me nearly $8 because they said the towel I used in the shower floor was too dirty. This was a big surprise to me when I was checking out, so another recommendation - inspect your towels and reject any that are dirty or stained or else you may be forced to pay for them.

My recommendation, pay in US dollars in person and don't leave credit cards. I went during a busy week, Easter, so I had to secure my room. But any other time and I would not leave a credit card in advance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JazzmanUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

During my stay at the hotel, service, cleanliness, tranquility, food and staff could find there was fabulous. A place to come back anytime. Recommended to spend a great trip. I think it's because the administration is focused by a local family and have kept the good hosts that are in Guatemala.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlbarreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend 2 weeks here and the staff made us feel welcome and were truly pleased to have us as guests. Every wish was handled in a considerate way and we felt at home. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard and breakfast area along with large rooms.

The Hotel is a short walk to the centre of Antigua and to the market but just far enough away from the centre to be quiet at night. We will be sure to look them up again when we return to beautiful Guatemala

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed one week while on a mission trip. The service, cleanliness, food, location - all absolutely fantastic. If and when I return to Antigua, this is the place I want to stay. Highest recommendation to the staff and hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuatemalaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Casa de las Fuentes is a lovely property located across from the Parque San Sebastien. I like the fact that it is within walking distance of all the sites, but slightly outside the lively town center, which can be crowded and boisterous. It is a comfortable escape, with clean rooms, reliable hot water, and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Quiet rooms around a beautiful garden.
Everything is clean and comfortable.
Great staff: flexible and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel was an excellent choice! Everything was perfect, the rooms were very clean, the service exceptional and it was very close of the main streets of the city. Eventhough we were on business the last few days we were able to see the city, enjoy of the delicious food and relax at the hotel.
Recomended 100%.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.9 mi away
San Jorge Hotel
San Jorge Hotel
#39 of 75 in Antigua
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
D'Leyenda Hotel
D'Leyenda Hotel
#21 of 75 in Antigua
435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Landivar
Posada Landivar
#70 of 75 in Antigua
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Euro Maya Hotel
Euro Maya Hotel
#50 of 75 in Antigua
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Hotel Antigua
Good Hotel Antigua
#9 of 75 in Antigua
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#51 of 75 in Antigua
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes

Property: Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes
Address: El Desengano Avenue | House # 26, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa de las Fuentes, is an authentic colonial house with all the old wormy Spanish style. Is located in a tranquil area next to San Sebastian Park; just six blocks from Antigua's heart. There are 24 ensuite rooms with cable TV, two gardens, conference room, free parking, laundry and telephone/fax/internet service. We offer Breakfast. Rates include taxes (22%) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa de Las Fuentes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing