We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”
Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Nice American owner. Rooms are average. More hostel-like than hotel. Seems popular with adopting mothers. The owner told us he's opening a new long-term stay place for them specifically.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Tortougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    82
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

The Casa Rustica del Parque has the same pluses as Guatemala itself: great people, awesome colors, tons of character.

It's also in a great location -- half a block from Parque Central, which means you'll feel safe walking home at night.

The staff was super friendly -- anything I needed (and then some!), they were willing to provide.

Only thing I'd do differently next time is stay at the sister hotel, the Casa Rustica, a half block away. Wifi makes all the difference!

Also, the rooms are a bit small and dark-feeling, but not enough to really bother me.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
17 Thank adlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

I spent a month at Casa Rustica and really loved it for its friendly staff, beautiful gardens and rooftop terraces, shared kitchen and livingroom areas. It's location allowed me to go out at night alone due to its central location. In August Casa Rustica was one of the few places that offered wireless internet. The only down side for me is that on weekends my shared bathroom was serving too many people. Other than that, no complaints. I felt like I was leaving family when I left.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, gardens, wireless internet
  • Disliked — crowded shared bathroom on weekends
  • Tips/Secrets — I use a combo of ear plugs and noise canceling headphones to create silence in all these intercity hotels
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank srozell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

My friend and I stayed here for two nights in early-June, based primarily on its location (though the heavy advertising all around Antigua was also an influence). We were under the impression that HOTEL Casa Rustica was um, a hotel. It’s not—it is definitely a hostel. What makes it so? Abundance of rooms without private bathrooms and no daily maid service (an unpleasant surprise--this was not disclosed to us at check in). If you’re expecting this beforehand, which we weren’t, Casa Rustica is a completely adequate place to stay. However, for a hostel in Guatemala, prices are not that good. We paid $36 per night during a weekend for a room with a private bathroom; another, much nicer hotel in Antigua that we stayed in was $42 per night, and for the $6 difference, no contest, the real hotel wins every time. (Perhaps for long term and non-weekend stays rates are more favorable.)

What’s good:
-Casa Rustica is a welcoming place with a real sense of community due to its many common areas. People share food, laundry soap, movies, study tips, etc.;
-The staff is fantastic (with the exception of the “travel agent,” who was so disinterested in business that it was comical. I delighted in asking her questions simply to annoy her and force her to take a break from AIM);
-In our private bathroom, hot showers with strong water pressure was always available; and
-The location can’t be beat.

What’s bad:
-The first night we stayed in a room that was hot and stuffy and LACKED A BATHROOM DOOR. ?! This seems like something no hotel room should be without, and an easy fix, but it hadn’t been addressed at the time of my stay, and it wasn’t mentioned at check in;
-Because of the demographic of the guests (young), it stays loud until very late: doors slam, music blares, people yell across the courtyard—it doesn’t stop. It may be an issue if you’re trying to catch a 6:00 A.M. flight to Tikal in the morning; and
-Casa Rustica claims to be new, but the bathrooms in both rooms I stayed in were definitely showing age. Tiles were cracked, caulk was missing, and mildew was growing on the shower curtains. By no means are these things deal breakers, but they caught me by surprise.

If you’re looking for a hostel in Antigua, Casa Rustica is probably as good as it gets. It’s welcoming, bright, safe, in the center of the city, and relatively clean. But if you want a real hotel, go elsewhere and spend a few bucks more.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

I spent eight nights at this hotel and couldn't have asked for a better introduction to Antigua.

The hotel is very new and very clean. It really has more of a "hostel" feel to it, which makes for a fantastic opportunity to meet travellers from all over the world, most of whom are in Antigua to study Spanish. The rooms are simple ... but if you request room 4, you'll get a massive tiled bathroom to yourself!

Darryl (the owner) and Angelica are fabulous hosts, and always ready to help with any questions ... or your Spanish.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
27 Thank AIReMOE2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed here for 10 days and had a great experience. It was very safe and in a terrific location. Some of the rooms were a little small, but you had everything you could possibly need. The staff was all very pleasant and the owner Darryl was a tremendous help. He was able to provide of with lots of helpful information on places in and around Antigua that allowed us to make the most of our time while in Guatemala. I would recommend Hotel Casa Rustica because it offers great amenities at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2006

This place is just great, cant recommend it enough! the staff are all really welcoming friendly and helpful! its bright and airy with an unbeatable location just literally one min from the centre plaza! The place is kept immaculate, bedrooms are roomy and bright, the kitchen is well equipped, the showers are lovely and hot and shared bathrooms are cleaned throughout the day so always spotless! laundry service is great and so handy..There are nice private gardens and hammocks to relax..cable tv..really what more could you want! Doubt i will find as good for rest of trip!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#59 of 76 in Antigua
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#51 of 76 in Antigua
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 76 in Antigua
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#41 of 76 in Antigua
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#44 of 76 in Antigua
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#28 of 76 in Antigua
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Property: Hotel Casa Rustica
Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing