We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY HELPFUL AND GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Hotel Casa Rustica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Rustica
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VERY HELPFUL AND GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place to stay,the staff is very helpful and its walking distance to main square.I would stay there again ,and the hotel dogs (LAVERNE ,SHIRLEY, AND LUCKY)are great additions to a long vacation for those of us who need a dog fix.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROB R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    82
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
29
83
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Selected one of the ground floor rooms which suited me perfectly. Very quiet, good WiFi in the room, hot water and private bath. Good bed, lots of blankets. Nice lobby area, a nice courtyard and even has a sundeck on the roof. Coffe, beer and sodas available from the front desk.

When I'm through Antiqua again, I will definately stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to look at a couple of rooms to choose what suits you the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was just about the cheapest double room we could get in Antigua, the room was on the ground floor so was a bit noisy with other guest coming in early in the morning. However the room was clean the shared bathroom was good and the facilities were good, kitchen and free water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 night - the rooms are very clean there is a great atmosphere, this hotel has all the facilities that a traveler could want - a small shop, good coffee, Wi-Fi, 2 balconies and 3 service computers with little extra charge.
in addition 3 wonderful and friendly dogs are welcoming you whenever you enter the hotel.
one of the best Hotels i visited in Antigua, very very recommended.

Room Tip: ask to see a couple of rooms, some rooms are better than other but all in all they are all good valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The place is very close to the centers..but the price is high and the people are not very nice, the charge u for anything and treat u like another guest on the way, it is a part of a chain of hotels and feels that way. The room is clean but very small..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elik-dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a budget hotel with most rooms sharing a bathroom so if you are looking for luxury or romance this is not the place. It is however, very clean and nicely decorated and the shared baths were clean. It is very centrally located, right near Plaza Mayor (Central Park) and you can pretty much walk anywhere in Antigua. We stayed with friends, and it suited our needs.There is a bar a couple doors down so it is very loud at night, if you are a light sleeper then this is not the place for you. You may want to bring earplugs just in case. The good points about the hotel: central location, clean, free wifi, nice patios, rooms were cute, doors locked at night. they also have some computers you can use for a price if you don't have yours with you. They also have a laundry but not sure how much it costs. The downside: one evening we found tiny ants in our room near one of the beds, it was late so there was no staff to tell, only a guard on duty. Also, the towels were pretty thin and with sharing a bathroom there was no place in the room to hang them, we had to dry them on the chairs. Also, if you want to pay by credit card they charge an extra 10% which is pretty absurd. One of the rooms is located on the top of the building and cute but the bathroom is on the floor below which may be a problem for some people at night as it is not lit well. They also have some dogs which live there, they are pretty nice but may be an issue if you are not an animal person.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are oddly located in relation to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevelandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Casa Rustica, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We appreciate all reviews and will attend to any problems. Hotel Casa Rustica is a budget hotel, and not luxury place. This is the reason our double rooms range from $35 to $55, and not in the hundreds. We are located just 1 block (3 min walk) from the central park.

We offer 14 rooms. ) of these rooms have their own private bathroom. Then, we offer 5 private rooms that have their bathroom outside the room. These 5 rooms shared 3 different bathrooms, so no waiting for a bathroom. I feel this needed to be explained, because the reviewer did not.

We give maid service & new towels to all rooms each day, so they did not need to hang their towels, just ask for new ones. Our nighttime guard is a hotel employee and he can handle any small maintenance issues, so this guest should have ask him to spray for the ants, and he would have.

About the credit card fee, all businesses in Guatemala charge extra, either by putting it into their prices and charging everyone (even cash customers) or as we do, only charging the customers paying with a card. In Guatemala, the credit card merchant fee is 5 to 10%, depending on which card is used. We only charge what it cost us, so we can keep the prices low for any cash paying customers.

We do have 3 lovely dogs that are a major part of the hotel. We always get people saying, they are glad to see our dogs because they miss theirs or always something positive about them. So, I guess the reviewer was right, if you are not a dog lover, there are lots of other hotels for you.

Also, this reviewer had lots of positive things about the hotel, but only gave it a 3 star. I have seen in some other reviews where the hotel was just dogged, but still given a 4 star. Huh? Anyway, Hotel Casa Rustica is a nice budget hotel where you can feel at home with friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My friend and I stumbled upon this hotel while walking near Parque Central and asked about their prices. We were immediately charmed by the nice sized courtyard with rocking chairs, rustic fountains, and wifi throughout the place. They gave us a "special deal" right on the spot for a double room (2 beds for 2 people) with its own bathroom for $40 on a weeknight. Not bad at all! They granted our request to see some rooms. They have a little rooftop garden through a spiral staircase. Also breakfast looks pretty comprehensive and delicious (scrambled eggs, ham, beans, pancakes, bread, juice, milk, yogurt); coffee was so so and we went to a cafe for it instead. Two complaints I have about this place: 1) On the day we checked in, they had no records of us. Thank goodness we had our receipt with us, and the nice gentleman took us to our rooms immediately; 2) sadly, the room he took us to was not the spacious, two double beds room the lady who registered us promised. He was very patient with us and showed us a few other rooms and we eventually picked one.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6 (or 7? I don't remember exactly) with a double bed and a single bed; it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graciete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#50 of 75 in Antigua
113 reviews
14.5 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#60 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#29 of 75 in Antigua
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Sin Ventura
Hotel La Sin Ventura
#38 of 75 in Antigua
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
Hotel Las Camelias Inn
#46 of 75 in Antigua
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
Hotel EuroMaya Suites
#41 of 75 in Antigua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rustica

Property: Hotel Casa Rustica
Address: 6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Rustica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 Block from central park, close to the most important sites of our beautiful city. This also gives you a safe, short walk back home every night. All private rooms with private or shared bathrooms, 24hr hot water, lots of natural light, 3 terraces w/beautiful volcano views, gardens w/fountain, beautiful flowers, sitting areas, hammocks, bright Guatemalan colors, use of a shared kitchen, free fast Wi-Fi, Internet computers, cable TV, pool table, laundry, travel services, cafe & espresso offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Rustica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rustica Hotel
Casa Rustica Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing