We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like a home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Capitan Tom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Capitan Tom
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was very impressed with this hostel, it felt just like home. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming when we arrived, very friendly and accommodating! Tanya cooked up some fantastic meals at very reasonable prices, including one of the nicest curries I've had in a long time. I would also highly recommend the breakfast that they offer. The rooms are clean and some have amazing views of the surrounding volcanoes. It was also enjoyable to have use of the lounge area with tv and a good selection of DVDs, as well as the roof terrace. Overall we had a great experience here, and a lot of credit must go to the staff who went to all lengths to ensure we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rascott93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    24
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
46
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for three nights and was instantly welcomed by the staff. The owner was incredibly attentive, helpful and genuinely wants you to have an enjoyable stay. Breakfast can be ordered in the morning and it was not only delicious but very filling. One of the best hostels I've stayed in, and it's the staff that made it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaffasurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

A good clean hostel with a wonderful staff that really helped out. Good showers (finally some hot water on my trip!). It's right next to the market and some cheap eats and a five minute walk to the center plaza. Pretty quiet hostel with a good terrace. Vanya is just awesome, very nice and helpful (she stayed waiting with me outside for my 4 a.m. shuttle to the airport)!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hostel is exactly what we needed when we arrived in Antigua. Run by Tanya, Vladimir, and Wingler, some of the nicest people you will meet in Guatemala, the hostel only cost 50Q a night for regular dorms, and 45Q a night if you're in a 4 person dorm room. Not only is the hostel cheap, but it has some great features like an amazing view from the rooftop terrace, a cozy lounge area with great wifi (I was even able to Skype), comfortable beds, and a kitchen that is open for you to use. They don't charge for coffee or their filtered water either which we found as a huge plus. The Hostel has the perfect location as well, it's less than a block from the market and it's an easy walk to the arch and the central park of the city. To save money, we booked our shuttles and activities through this hostel because they almost always found us the cheapest price in Antigua. I would definitely stay at this hostel if I ever come back to Antigua, especially since they can only grow from here since they're still fairly new.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belal139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I gotta say that they really tried to help me. They are really noce people,but I would not stay there again. They offer you everythin you need, but there are a lot of places in Antigua and you definitely can find a better place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostelcapitantom, Owner at Hostel Capitan Tom, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
I'm so sorry,but I even didn't understand what it was about?Everything is good,nice people tried to help you in everything and without any reason you don't want to come back here,which is fine,but you also suggest to another people not come here and find something better.What's the point of this review?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Captain Tom's hostel - Only open 8 months ago, this hostel is everything I could have asked for in my trip to Antigua. In the perfect location by the mercado, with a lovely lounge area, perfect wifi, roof terrace with views of the entire town, kitchen and freshly made beds (with your own pillow selection!) The owner Tayna was one of the most genuinely nice women I've ever met; warm, friendly and attentive - she even woke up with me when I did the volcano hike to make me coffee. If ever I was to return to Antigua, I would stay here a million times over

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyzzie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is a great example of what a hostel should be. They've got all basic amenities and more. Wifi, good tv (important for the World Cup), kitchen, hot water, and a rooftop terrace with an incredible view. Quiet place, nice staff, and a great location that isn't too touristy. And it only costs 50Q for a dorm bed, compared to the next cheapest place (70Q for a dorm bed)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ironbender3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Rustica
Hotel Casa Rustica
#42 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#24 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Antigueno
Hostal Antigueno
#11 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#13 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Three Monkeys Hostel
Three Monkeys Hostel
#2 of 100 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Antigua
Hostal Antigua
#23 of 100 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Capitan Tom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Capitan Tom

Property: Hostel Capitan Tom
Address: Calzada Santa Lucia norte # 10, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel"Capitan Tom eco lodge"is located very near by lake Itza in district Peten in Guatemala.Small town "El Remate" just 10-15 min.to walk from our hostel,has a restaurants,bars,internet-cafe,small shopping stores.Through the "El Remate"are going tree main roads:one is for Tikal-national park with Mayan pyramids,for the Belize and for the Flores island.Biotopo Cerro Cahui national park in 5 min ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Capitan Tom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing