We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Colonial Style Hotel, Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Farolas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Farolas
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Lovely Colonial Style Hotel, Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hotel is well positioned, close enough to the city centre for ease of access but far enough away to avoid the noise. It is a charming building, quite unassuming from the road but quite lovely inside. The rooms are arranged around a stunning garden. Unfortunately this courtyard also contains the restaurant which can go on serving until quite late, bad news if you are tired after a long journey, as we were, and wanted an early night.
Breakfast was good and varied. Rooms spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

It is always a pleasure to know that you had a good stay with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
33
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
425 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night as part of a tour. It has great decor , set out on a courtyard system.

Arrived late in the evening, so late for dinner and opted for soup, a traditional Guatemalan one . This was yummy......you have to love coriander, which I do !!

Breakfast was a bit chaotic to say the least!!! A huge French group , our small group ........and other travellers with very few staff.......a bit of a fiasco. Food comes on a plate, so you get no choice. Eggs, fruit ,bread pretend butter and sweet jam on the same plate.

Not far from the main square , so handy for all the sights.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNTAN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the Tlalpeño Soup!

We are very sorry the breakfast was a little crowded and noisy with the group.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The 2 of us stayed in this hotel for 6 nights at the end of a 2 week tour of Guatemala and it is certainly one of the best we had. The staff were so helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and spacious but you did need to open the windows, especially the one in the bathroom, to give the rooms an airing. The food in the restaurant was good and not expensive plus they were happy to cater for us who have dietary restrictions. As with most hotels in Guatemala, there was free WiFi access but in this one it covered everywhere: rooms, garden and restaurant. If you needed to use their computer, it cost $1 for half an hour.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are very pleased you had a wonderful stay at our hotel during your trip to Antigua Guatemala.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a fairly central colonial type hotel . The rooms we had were on the ground floor and backed onto the street. They were large enough but had a musty smell and we thought they were a bit damp.. We hung up some clothes to air as they had been soaked the day previous day and to be honest they were not any dryer in the morning. The rooms had a TV and the bathrom had a hair dryer, but they lacked air and natural light as the small window facing the garden had frosted glass and was rather opaque.
We had a meal in the evening and it was fine, but there wasnt a big choice. The breakfast was plated for us as we were in a tour group and was nothing special. There was a computer in the reception area and it could be used for a few dollars charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are very sorry that during your stay, your experience in our hotel was not what you expected. It is very important for us to meet our every guest wants and needs. We have, upon request, a dehumidifier which we lend our costumers since we know that Antigua can be a very humid town.

We hope that you can give us the oportunity to welcome you again in the near future, so we can can make you feel at home and give you the experience you deserve.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we arrived the lights flickered and went out and emergency generation was required. Some of the group got hot water but some did not and the TV in our room did not work. The hotel maintenance staff (who came very quickly) were unable to fix it that day, but managed to get it working on our second day. Breakfast was good, the rooms large and comfortable, but reception was slower than normal when we arrived. Antigua is full of interesting churches and convents, and the hotel is about six blocks from the centre- within walking distance of main sights, but the street
signs are noticeably in short supply. The Casa del Jade is worth a visit, and it has a nice restaurant, but NB smoking is not even allowed on the open terraces. We had soup at the hotel in the evening Sopa Caldo Tlalpeno (Chicken & Veg) -very good. Thwe hotel has lovely gardens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are very sorry you had to experience Antigua's electrical problems. We do provide an alternative power supply because this is something that happens very often in town. We are very sorry your TV had to be replaced because of this problem.

We are very glad you had a good time in Antigua and that you found our hotel good for getting to know the town since we are located exactly 4 blocks from Central Park.

We are very happy you liked our Caldo Tlalpeño.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon and serve you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Whenever I go to Antigua, I stay at Las Farolas. Beatiful garden! The rooms are big, clean, comfortable. The staff is anxious to please. You feel at home. The breakfast is very good (a la carte, not buffet). I also dined and lunched in the hotel restaurant. Excellent food, not a wide selection, but very gourmet. The hotel is quiet and well appointed. It is within walking distance to the Central Park and most churches and ruins. Definitely recommend it and looking forward to my next visit to Antigua and staying at Las Farolas. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Costumer,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback.

It is great to know you come to visit us every now and then. We do hope we make you feel at home every time you visit.

It will be such a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Have a beautiful day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our rooms were large and airy and have nice appointed bathrooms attached. The windows face the courtyard that was even lusher than when we were last here October 2011. It was great too see the same friendly staff members and a great breakfast was included with our room rate. A five star (except no a/c) experience at a three star price.
The climate is comfortable with cool temperatures most of the year. The location is quiet and peaceful near to the sights and shopping and food and drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJoseLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMPF, Gerente at Hotel Las Farolas, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Costumer,

It is wonderful to know you came back for a second time with us and that you had a good experience during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Hopefully you can come and visit us for a third time!

Kind regards from Antigua Guatemala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Florencia Hotel
Casa Florencia Hotel
#30 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#29 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
Real Plaza Hotel Suites
#39 of 82 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
Candelaria Antigua Hotel
#22 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Catedral
Hotel la Catedral
#14 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 82 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Farolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Farolas

Property: Hotel Las Farolas
Address: Calle Poniente y 5a. Avenida Sur 9a, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Las Farolas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Farolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing