We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came back for more!”

El Fogon de la Abuela Restaurant
Cuisines: Guatemalan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: A little place with a big flavor! we are a local own restaurant with good options for Traditional Guatemala food and international! we are looking forward to meet you!!
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Came back for more!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We wanted something good and tasty that wasn't going to cost the earth and we definitely found it here! Plates full of food - including loads of veggies - and helpful staff. Thanks!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, helpful staff, lovely atmosphere, great prices”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I ate here with friends recently and was blown away by the meals. I had the Guatemalan Churasco which included a beautifully marinated steak, chorizo, sweet corn, steamed vegetables and potato. The meal we had was so good we went back the next night to try some of the other options.
My friends had the chicken in special cream sauce and the mixed kebab which were both generous portions and cooked perfectly.
The value for money here is amazing and I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal out while in Antigua.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour: eat here!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This lovely family owned and run restaurant in Antigua is an absolute delight. The homely feel combined with gorgeous (cheap) food and great wind made for a perfect night out. I ordered the chicken with special cream sauce and was glad I did. Many dishes come with a great selection of sides, including guacamole, vegetables or rice. My friend and I splurged and ordered two desserts, the brownie and the cheesecake - yum! You'll consider yourself lucky to have eaten here in beautiful Central America, I know I do.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JemmaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Antigua!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This restaurant was the most unexpected surprise. We wanted somewhere romantic with nice food but without the extravagant prices of the tourist restaurants. This restaurant had the best food we tasted in a whole month of travel around Guatemala, with soft candle light and a 'home style cooking' feel. The lady in the kitchen was smiling whilst cooking and the waitress was sweet, polite and personal. She treated you like you were her guest in her house. I think this restaurant is one of the best hidden secrets in Antigua.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzibarkinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and vegetables!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Delicious little restaurant in Antigua. Well worth visiting especially if you are craving vegetables. They serve salads and veges and good wine choices too. I had the steak with mushroom sauce which was delicious and the chocolate brownie was amazing!! Definitely going back.

Helpful?
Thank Gizmo9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fogon de la Abuela Restaurant also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing